Montgomery County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Montgomery County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Montgomery County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Montgomery County North Carolina
East Main Street P O Box 695
Troy, NC 27371
Courhouse burned 1835
1820 Census missing
Registrat of Deeds has birth, marriage, deeds burial, probate and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from1842
When Montgomery County was formed in 1779 from Anson County, It was named in honor of Richard Montgomery who, in 1775, lost his life at the battle of Quebec in the attempt to conquer Canada. Located in the south section of the State of North Carolina, it is bounded by Moore Co, Richmond Co, Stanly Co, Davidson Co, and Randolph County. When the county was first established it was specified that the first court should be held at the home of Henry Munger, and all subsequent courts should be held where the justices of peace decided until a courthouse was built. In 1783 the Assembly authorized the building of the courthouse on land previously purchased for that purpose. There was some dissatisfaction among the people as to the location that had been selected but this didn't sway the commissioners from the location they had selected. In an effort to appease the ones dissatisfied the act provided for adequate ferries across the Yadkin and Uwharrie Rivers on the court, public, and election days. The General Assembly was petitioned to authorize removal of the courthouse in 1785. In 1791 an act was passed directing that the center of the county be located by actual survey, and Stokes was to be established at that place. petitioned to authorize the removal of the courthouse. When the commissioners failed to act new commissioners were named in 1792. At that time the courts were to be held at the home of Mark Kenneth unless the justices decide on some more convenient place. The courthouse battle continued on for several more years with the commissioners in 1815 being named to again locate the center of the county, purchase land, and erect a courthouse. They were authorized to sell the old courthouse and lot in the town of Henderson and apply the proceeds to the erection of the new buildings. In 1816 Laurenceville was named under the authority of a law enacted in 1815 establishing a town at the courthouse. The courthouse was ordered to be moved in 1843 from Laurenceville to the geographical center. Commissioners were named to locate the center, to acquire land, to lay out a town and erect the public buildings. In 1844 Troy was established as the county seat and remains so today.
The above information comes from website - http://www.usgennet.org/usa/nc/county/montgomery/history.htm#History
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1835--Courthouse fire destroyed many records. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Joseph R. Allen Cemetery, near Candor, NC
- Allen Family Cemetery, Star, NC
- Asbury Baptist Church Cemetery
- Rebecca Baldwin Cemetery
- Bean Family Cemetery
- Bethel Baptist Church Cemetery, Mount Gilead, NC
- Big Oak Church of God Cemetery, Star, NC
- Biscoe Cemetery, Biscoe, NC
- Blackwood's Chapel Baptist Church Cemetery, Candor, NC
- Blue Family Cemetery
- Boles Palmer Cemetery
- Bruton Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Cagle Family Cemetery
- Callicutt Wesleyan Church Cemetery, Ophir, NC
- Calvary Baptist Church Cemetery, Mount Gilead, NC
- Calvin Crouch Family Cemetery
- Campbell Plot
- Candor Cemetery, partial, Candor, NC
- Candor Town Cemetery, north of Candor, NC
- Capelsie Church Cemetery
- Chambers Family Cemetery
- Chancey Family Cemetery
- Chandler's Grove UMC Cemetery
- Chisholm Burial Ground
- Chisholm Family Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Coggin-Russell-Henderson Family Cemetery
- Community Baptist Church Cemetery, Candor, NC
- Cooke Family Church Cemetery
- Covington Cemetery
- Big John Dawkins Cemetery
- Deberry Family Cemetery, Mt. Gilead, NC
- Dennis Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Elliott Family Cemetery
- Ether Cemetery, Ether, NC
- Ewing Family Cemetery
- First Wesleyan Church Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Forks of Little River Baptist Church Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Frazer Family Cemetery, Mount Gilead, NC
- Freeman Hill Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Greene Family Cemetery, Candor, NC
- Greene Parsons Cemetery
- Hall Family Cemetery
- Halton Family Cemetery
- Harris Cemetery
- Harris Family Cemetery
- Rollin Harris Cemetery
- T. P. Harris Cemetery
- Haywood Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Hearne Family Cemetery
- Henderson Family Cemetery
- Hickory Grove Pentecostal Holiness Chuch Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Hilliard Cemetery
- Holy Mount Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Gilead, NC
- Hutchinson Graveyard
- Jordan Family Cemetery
- Kellis Family Cemetery, Candor, NC
- Lammonds Family Cemetery
- Lane Chapel UMC Cemetery, Badin, NC
- Laurel Hill Baptist Church Cemetery, Candor, NC
- Leach Cemetery, Star, NC
- Lewis Cemetery, Biscoe, NC
- Liberty Hill Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Gilead, NC
- Liske Family Cemetery
- Little River United Methodist Church Cemetery
- Long Hill Baptist Church Cemetery, Troy, NC
- LoveJoy United Methodist Church Cemetery, Lovejoy, NC
- Luther Mount Cemetery, Harrisville, NC
- Macedonia Presbyterian Church Cemetery, Candor, NC
- Macedonia United Methodist Church Cemetery, Badin, NC
- Martin Cemetery
- Maske Family Cemetery
- McCallum Family Cemetery, Candor, NC
- McKay Family Cemetery
- McKenzie Family Cemetery
- McRae Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Melton Grove Methodist Church Cemetery
- Moore Family Cemetery
- Mt. Carmel Baptist Church Cemetery, Troy, NC
- New Hope Baptist Church Cemetery, Star, NC
- Old Center Baptist Church Cemetery
- Old Piney Grove UMC Cemetery
- Old Scottish Cemetery
- Old Thompson Cemetery
- Oliver Grove Missionary Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Gilead, NC
- Parson's Grove Family Cemetery
- Parson's Grove UMC Cemetery, Candor, NC
- Pleasant Grove Baptist Church Cemetery, Mount Gilead, NC
- Pleasant Hill UMC Church Cemetery, Norman, NC
- Prospect Church Cemetery, Badin, NC
- James W. Reeves Family Cemetery
- Rush Family Cemetery
- Russell Family Cemetery, Badin, NC
- Sardis United Methodist Church Cemetery, Candor, NC
- Scarborough Family Cemetery
- Sharon Cemetery, Mt. Gilead, NC
- Shiloh Church Cemetery, Lovejoy, NC
- Sills Family Cemetery
- Simmons Family Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Southside Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Star Pentecostal Holiness Church Cemetery, Star, NC
- Star Town Cemetery, Star, NC
- Stoney Fork Baptist Church Cemetery, Mount Gilead, NC
- Suggs Burial Ground
- Suggs Family Cemetery
- Sulphur Springs Cemetery
- Talbert Family Cemetery
- Tedder Family Cemetery
- Turner Cemetery
- Ussery Family Cemetery
- Uwharrie United Methodist Church Cemetery, Troy, NC
- Wadeville Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Gilead, NC
- Wadeville United Methodist Church Cemetery, Wadeville, NC
- Whip Poor Will Camp Cemetery (formerly Elliot's Grove Church Cemetery)
- White Crest Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Gilead, NC
- White Oak Springs Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery, Star, NC
- Wooley Family Cemetery #1
- Wolley Family Cemetery #2
- Zion United Methodist Church Cemetery, Mt. Gilead, NC
For tips on accessing Montgomery County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Fork of Little River. Church built 1758. Originally located in Anson County.
- Mouth of Hughwarry River. Constituted 1780.
- Rocky River P.D.R. Constituted 1758.
- Randall's United Methodist Church, near Norwood, N.C. Organized about 1785. Later located in Stanly County.
- Zion United Methodist Church, near Pee Dee, N.C. Organized 1786. Originally known as Scarborough's Meeting House.
The Register of Deeds office serves as the custodian for real estate and vital records for Montgomery County. Our records include deeds, deeds of trust, maps, military discharge records, notary public records, birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage licenses.
Montgomery County Register of Deeds
PO Box 695
102 E. Spring St
Troy, NC 27371
Deeds are currently indexed and searchable online from 1999, records are being updated regularly, so check back often.
- Montgomery County Military Records - from USGenWeb Archives
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company E
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company E
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company A
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I
The Montgomery Herald, 139 Bruton St, Troy, NC 27371 910-576-6051
The Clerk of Superior Court is elected for four years and must be a resident of the county in which he or she is elected. Unlike clerks of court in other states, the Clerk of Superior Court in North Carolina has numerous judicial functions.
As judge of probate, the Clerk has exclusive original jurisdiction over matters relating to the probate of wills, and the administration of estates, including appointing personal representatives, auditing their accounting, and removing them from office if necessary. The Clerk also presides over many other legal matters including adoptions, incompetency proceedings, condemnation of private lands for public use, and foreclosures. The Clerk is responsible for all clerical and record-keeping functions of the district and superior court. In addition, the Clerk receives and disburses money collected each year from court fees and fines. Montgomery County has probate records starting from 1785, you should contact the Clerk's office for more specific details about the documents that you are seeking.
Montgomery County Courthouse
108 East Main Street
Troy, NC 27371
P. O. Box 527
Troy, NC 27371
Clerk of the Superior Court
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Montgomery County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1843-1964 - Will Books 1 to 6 (1843-1964) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
A number of wills have been transcribed, please visit the following websites:
Websites with Tax Lists:
Birth, Marriage and Death Records are available at the Register of Deeds office. Montgomery County has Marriage records from 1779, and Birth & Death records starting from 1913, when the State started requiring the registration of these vital records. Visit the Montgomery County Register of Deeds website to get further details.
The following websites have a number of transcribed Vital Records for Montgomery County:
- Montgomery County Vital Records
- Montgomery County Vitals - from the USGenWeb Archives
- Montgomery County Marriages
- Montgomery County, North Carolina Marriage Records at USGenWeb - free.
- 1843-1964 - Montgomery County Marriage Index 1843-1964 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Societies and Libraries
- Sandhill Regional Library System
- List of North Carolina Genealogical Societies
- North Carolina Genealogical Society, P. O. Box 30815, Raleigh, NC 27622-0815
- Federation of North Carolina Historical Societies, 109 East Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27607-2807
Family History Centers
- [http://www.genealogyinc.com/northcarolina/montgomery-county/ Montgomery County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)sgenweb.org/ USGenWeb Project]. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Montgomery County NCGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:225-226; 2:566. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ "Randall's United Methodist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Zion United Methodist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
|This North Carolina-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:42.
- This page has been accessed 16,879 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page