Montmorency County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Montmorency County
Guide to Montmorency County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Montmorency County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | April 1, 1840 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Atlanta |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Montmorency County Courthouse 12265 M-32 P. O. Box 789 Atlanta, MI 49709 Phone: 989-785-8022 Phone: 517-785-4794 Montmorency County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth, marriage, and death records from 1881,
divorce and court records from 1940 and military records from 1920. [1]
History
Parent County
1840--Montmorency County was created 1 April 1840 from Mackinac County. Formerly Cheonoquet County until name changed to Montmoerency 8 March 1843. It was attached to Mackinac, Cheboygan, and Alpena Counties prior to organization 21 May 1881. County seat: Atlanta [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Some of the populated places still in Montmorency County, MI, are the towns of Hillman, Atlanta, Lewiston, Vienna, and the area of Canada Creek. None of them have more than a blinking light for traffic signals so that gives an idea of how rural the county is. Since the lumbering era, many other smaller area have become little more than crossroads known by the locals by the names of the towns they used to be during that times. Submitted by Ella Purkiss Accredited Genealogist and resident of Montmorency County
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montmorency County, Michigan page 349, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 21:15.
- This page has been accessed 1,168 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
