Morcott, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.pngRutland Parishes

Guide to Morcott, Rutland family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Morcott, Rutland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wrangdike
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Uppingham PLU
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office


Contents

Parish History

MORCOTT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Uppingham, hundred of Wrandike, county of Rutland, 4¼ miles (E. by N.) from Uppingham. There is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

The Victoria County History of Morcott (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Morcott, Rutland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MORCOTT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1550-1624,
1716-1866
None 1544-1624,
1716-1753
None 1570-1624,
1716-1812
None
IGI 1701-1812 1701-1812

Deposited records are found at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office.

Diocese of Peterborough : Morcott Bap 1539 - 1960 Marr 1539 - 1837 Bur 1539 - 1904

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 April 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 831 times.