Morecambe Holy Trinity, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Morecambe Holy Trinity

Guide to Morecambe Holy Trinity, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Morecambe Holy Trinity, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Caton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1747
Bishop's Transcripts: 1746
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

History

POULTON, with Fearnhead, a township, in the parish and union of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 2 miles (N. E. by E.) from the town of Warrington. The township is bounded on the south by the river Mersey. The road from Warrington to Manchester passes through it. Here is the hamlet of Padgate Poulton Holy Trinity was created a chapel of ease in 1745 from Lancaster St Mary, Lancashire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Bare, Torrisholme, and Poulton Barre and Torrisholme. Poulton and Poulton le Sands are synonymous with what developed as Morecambe.[1]

Other later churches in Morecambe within the Diocese of Blackburn include:

Morecambe St Barnabas, Lancashire, Bare, St Christopher,Lancashire, Church of the Ascension, Torrisholme, Lancashire,Morecambe St Martin of Tours,Lancashire

Here is an 1870 historical view of Poulton-le-Sands chapelry by John M. Wilson:

POULTON-LE-SANDS, a sea-port village, a town-ship, and a chapelry, in Lancaster parish, Lancashire. The village is conjoint with Morecambe village, 3¼ miles west by northwest of Lancaster. The township contains also the villages of Bare and Torrisholme. There are an Independent chapel, a Wesleyan chapel, erected in 1855; and a Primitive Methodist chapel.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936.

Poor Law Unions

Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire from 1869

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

http://www.mpc.care4free.net/History/history.htm Parish website history and images of the church

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-391815-parish-church-of-the-holy-trinity-moreca British listed buildings

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 602-605. Date Accessed: 1 October 2013
  2. John M. Wilson, [http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/10761

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:16.
  • This page has been accessed 2,304 times.