Morehouse Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  Morehouse Parish

Guide to Morehouse Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Morehouse Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Morehouse Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 25, 1844
County Seat Bastrop
Courthouse
LAMorehousecourthouse.jpg
Address 100 East Madison
Bastrop LA 71220
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Morehouse Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 


Contents

Parish Courthouse

Morehouse Parish Courthouse
125 E Madison Street
Bastrop, LA 71221
Phone: 318.281.3343 

Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1870,
land records from 1844 and cemetery abstract 1867-1957 .[1]


History

Parent Parish

  • 1844--Morehouse Parish was created 25 March 1844 from Ouachita Parish.
    Parish seat: Bastrop [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Lamorehouse.png

African American

Cemeteries

 





Census

Census Pop.
190016,634
191018,78612.9%
192019,3112.8%
193023,68922.7%
194027,57116.4%
195032,03816.2%
196033,7095.2%
197032,463−3.7%
198034,8037.2%
199031,938−8.2%
200031,021−2.9%
201027,979−9.8%
Morehouse Parish Census Data[2]
















Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Morehouse Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums

Maps

Military

Louisiana Military History Online


Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Morehouse Parish, Louisiana served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morehouse Parish, Louisiana:

- 3rd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Harrison's)(Confederate), Company F

Newspapers


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morehouse Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Morehouse Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers


Websites

Morehouse Parish Websites

Louisiana Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Morehouse Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 5,663 times.