Morgan County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Morgan County

Guide to Morgan County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Morgan County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 6, 1818
County Seat Decatur
Courthouse
Morgan County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Morgan County Courthouse
302 Lee Street NE
Decatur, Al 35601-1999
Phone: 256-351-4737 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1818 [1]

History

Parent County

1818--Morgan County was created 6 February 1818 from the Cherokee Turkeytown Cession.
County seat: Decatur [2]

Formerly Cotaco County. Name changed to Morgan 14 Jun 1821.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Morgan County had destructive courthouse fires in 1926, and 1938.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Almorgan.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

  • 1865-1932 - Morgan County, Alabama Colored Marriage Books A1-K in "Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950," at FamilySearch.org - free.[4] (skips 1910 and 1911)
  • Morgan County, Alabama, 1850 Federal Census. Compiled by Janet Baker Burks. - Hartselle, Ala. : Marine/Walls Historical Publication, c1984. - ii, 146p. : ill  F332.M8 B87 1984  FHL book 976.193 X2b

Biography

  • Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Morgan County, Alabama begins on page 62.

Cemeteries

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18205,263
18309,06272.2%
18409,8418.6%
185010,1252.9%
186011,33512.0%
187012,1877.5%
188016,42834.8%
189024,08946.6%
190028,82019.6%
191033,78117.2%
192040,19619.0%
193046,17614.9%
194048,1484.3%
195052,9249.9%
196060,45414.2%
197077,30627.9%
198090,23116.7%
1990100,04310.9%
2000111,06411.0%
2010119,4907.6%
Est. 2011119,9538.0%
For tips on accessing Morgan County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Morgan County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Morgan County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Morgan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Morgan County.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company C
- 5th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company D, F and G
- 9th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Decatur Sons of Liberty"
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Magnolia Rifles"
- 27th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (formerly Co. "I", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)



Civil War Battle Fought in Morgan County
  • 1864 - October 26-29 = Decatur (partly fought in Limestone County)

Battle information from Civil War Battle Summaries by State, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Map showing Civil War battles in Alabama.

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morgan County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Morgan County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Morgan County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Morgan County is in District 3.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1818-1860 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
  • 1821-1825, 1848-1853, 1856-1862, 1917, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
Vital Record Substitutes

A free collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the Morgan County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs.com:

Societies and Libraries

Societies

Morgan County Genealogical Society
624 Bank Street NE
Decatur, Alabama 35601-1608

Libraries

Decatur Public Library
504 Cherry St. NE
Decatur, Alabama 35601
Telephone: 256-353-2993

The Alabama Room has local histories, microfilmed newspapers, census records, directories, family histories, and more.

Family History Center

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mongan County p. 39. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alabama Counties: Morgan County in Alabama Department of Archives and History (accessed 16 March 2014).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 March 2014, at 17:42.
  • This page has been accessed 12,034 times.