Morgan County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Morgan County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Morgan County

Guide to Morgan County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Morgan County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Morgan County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded 10 December, 1807
County Seat Madison
Address Morgan County Courthouse
PO Box 168
Madison, GA 30650-0168
Phone: 706.342.0725
Morgan County Website


County Courthouse

Morgan County Courthouse
PO Box 168
Madison, GA 30650-0168
Phone: 706.342.0725

County Health Department has birth records; Probate Court has marriage, death, burial and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1807[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
384 Hancock St.
P.O. Drawer 551
Madison, GA 30650
Phone: (706) 342-3605
Fax: (706) 343-6462

Probate Court of Morgan County
P.O. Box 857
Madison, GA 30650
Phone: (706) 343-6500

Beginning Dates for Morgan County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1807--Morgan County was created 10 December 1807 from Baldwin County. County seat: Madison [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1844 The courthouse at Madison burned 1 September 1844. All records survived, no records were lost.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Green County  • Jasper County  • Newton County  • Oconee County  • Putnam County  • Walton County

Morgan CountyButts CountyWalton CountyBarrow CountyClarke CountyGwinnett CountyDeKalb CountyRockdale CountyNewton CountyHenry CountySpalding CountyLamar CountyMonroe CountyJones CountyJasper CountyPutnam CountyWashington CountyBaldwin CountyHancock CountyTaliaferro CountyGreene CountyWilkes CountyOglethorpe CountyJackson CountyOconee CountyGAMorgan.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.


Bethlehem Baptist Church

  • 1859-1885 - Bethlehem Baptist Church Baptism Index 1859-1885. Batch C713411 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1859-1895 - Bethlehem Baptist Church Marriage Index 1859-1895. Batch M713411 at FamilySearch - free.[4]



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Morgan County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Morgan County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morgan County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)) , Company G
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war's information is also given)

  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Morgan County). 1957. Confederate Pension Roll 1920-1931 & Confederate roster: also roll and minutes of Confederate States Service Survivors Association of Morgan County, abt. 1879-1930. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. (United States, Georgia, Morgan -- Military records -- Civil War, 1861-1865.) Film 158946



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morgan County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at— index $

  • 1808-1879 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1808-1879. Batch M713421 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1866-1891 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1866-1891. Batch M713423 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1879-1907 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1879-1907. Batch M713422 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1891-1895 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M713424 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at — index $

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Monroe County Historical Society
East Johnston Street, PO Box 401,
Forsyth, GA 31029; (912) 994-5070

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morgan County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 45. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 September 2015, at 03:18.
  • This page has been accessed 10,824 times.