Morgan County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Morgan County

Guide to Morgan County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Morgan County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 5, 1833
County Seat Versailles
Courthouse
Address Morgan County Courthouse
100 E Newton Street
Versailles, MO 65084-1298
Phone: 573.378.5436
Morgan County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Recorder Deeds has marriage and land records;
Probate Court has probate records from 1834;
Clerk Circuit Court has court records; County 
Clerk has birth and death records[1]

History

Parent County

1833--Morgan County was created 5 January 1833 from Cooper County. County seat: Versailles [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Benton  • Camden  • Cooper  • Miller  • Moniteau  • Pettis

Morgan CountyMiller CountyCole CountyMoniteau CountyBenton CountyHickory CountyCamden CountyCooper CountyPettis CountyMaries CountyPulaski CountyOsage CountyCallaway CountyBoone CountyMOMorgan.JPG


Resources

Biographies

All of the family biographies from the History of Morgan County, Missouri (1889) by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Cemeteries

  • Dorothy & Bill Williams have cataloged 27,000 plus burials in 150 cemeteries in Morgan County, MO. They have Last Name, First Name, Birth, Death, Cemetery, Addition, Block, Lot, Grave. They will try to answer any inquiries (within reason) sent to wmwwms@sbcglobal.net

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Morgan County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A Sheaf of Memories - An address given by R. F. Walker at Versailles, MO on Aug. 4, 1904 at the First Annual Meeting of the Old Settlers Association of Morgan County.

Maps

Momorgan.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 60th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morgan County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1839-1869 - Morgan County Birth Index 1839-1869. Batch C515493 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1865-1866 - Morgan County Birth Index 1865-1866. Batch C515491 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1833-1881 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1833-1881. Batch M515491 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881-1885 - Morgan County Marriage Index 1881-1885. Batch M515492 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1886 - Morgan County Death Index, Volume 1, 1883-1886. Batch B515878 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Society

Morgan County Historical Society
120 N Monroe
Versailles MO 65084.
Phone: (573) 378-5530
Website: http://www.morgancohistory.org/?q=node/1

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Morgan County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Morgan County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Morgan County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Morgan County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Morgan County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Morgan County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morgan County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 14:50.
  • This page has been accessed 6,479 times.