Morgan County, UtahEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Utah
Morgan County
Guide to Morgan County, Utah genealogy. Birth records, marriage and death records, cemeteries, census, church records, probate records, and obituaries—resources to find parents and family history since 1862, when the county was formed.
| Dates for major county records[1] | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| 1898-present | 1869-present | 1898-present | 1870, 1880... | 1869-present | 1869-present |
| For earlier dates, try...Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | Parent counties | |||||
| Morgan County, Utah | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Utah | |||||||
![]() Location of Utah in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | January 17, 1862 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Morgan | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | 48 W. Young St. Morgan, UT 84050 | ||||||
| Website: www.morgan-county.net | |||||||
| Named for: Elder Jedediah Morgan Grant | |||||||
| |||||||
Helpful Facts
County Courthouse
Morgan County Courthouse
48 West Young Street
Morgan, Ut 84050
Phone: 801-845-4011
County Clerk has marriage records from 1888, divorce and court records from 1896 and probate records from 1869. County Recorder has land records.[2]
Parent Counties
Morgan County, Utah was created January 17, 1862 from: Cache |Summit | Weber
| Before the county was created—and perhaps until the newly-formed county was fully operational—search records of the parent counties. |
Boundary Changes
See UT: Index of Counties... from Newberry Library's Utah Atlas of Historical County Boundaries, for a timeline of boundary changes for Morgan County, Utah.
Neighboring Counties
Morgan County, Utah is surrounded by: Davis | Rich | Salt Lake | Summit | Weber
Resources
Bible Records
The term "Bible records" refers to the practice of keeping family dates and events in a family Bible. This was a common practice in many European countries and carried over to America. Many of these family Bible records are still in existence and preserved by the descendants of the immigrants. In some cases these family Bibles have found their way into libraries and other repositories.
For an explanation of how to find Bible records and for helpful links see Utah Bible Records. See also United States Bible Records.
Biography
- Biography Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Morgan County Cemeteries at the Utah State Historical site
BillionGraves:
- Croydon Cemetery, Croydon
- Milton Cemetery, Morgan
- Mountain Green Cemetery, Morgan
- North Morgan Cemetery, Morgan
- Peterson Cemetery, Morgan
- Porterville Cemetery, Morgan
Census
The 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 U.S. federal population schedules of Morgan County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Utah Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in national indexes, try checking local indexes. Created by experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide indexes.
See Utah Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
- 1870
- 1880
- 1890
- 1900
- 1910
- 1920
- 1930
Church History
- Church History Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Churches and Religious Groups
- Church Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (the Mormons)
Historically, most people in Utah were Mormons. Their records are, therefore, very important for early Utah research. For additional information, see Tracing LDS Ancestors and Utah Church Records.
Click a church unit name in the chart below for its history, boundaries, and availability of records, which are often in microfilm format
| Morgan County, Utah guide to history and records of LDS wards and branches |
| Stake(s): Morgan Stake, Utah Places: Croydon · Milton · Morgan · Mountain Green · Peterson · Porterville · Richville · Stoddard · Linked below are the ward and stake records for Washington County, Utah on microfilm at the FamilySearch Library. Click on a ward for records (up to about 1948).
|
Court Records
- Court Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Directories;
- Directories. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Ethnic and Other Groups
Funeral Homes
Walker Mortuary[3]
45 West 200 North
Morgan, UT 84050
Phone 801-829-6336
Fax: 801-829-6337
Gazetteers
Genealogy
- Genealogy Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Guardianship
- Guardianship Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
History
- A history of Morgan County, Utah Centennial County History Series. Also available at Marriott Library Digital Archives]
- Histories. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
An early route of the Hastings Cutoff ran through the Morgan Valley and down through a narrow gorge in Weber Canyon. The Donner Party avoided going through the Morgan Valley in order to speed up their journey. However, their alternate route proved more time-consuming.
History Timeline
Boundary Changes
See UT: Index of Counties... from Newberry Library's Utah Atlas of Historical County Boundaries, for a timeline of boundary changes for Morgan County, Utah.
NOTE: Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Wikipedia for Morgan County.
- 1819. Adams-Onis Treaty recognized Spain rights to the territory, under the control of Mexico.
- 1825. Present day Mountain Green is the location of a historic meeting of the mountain man, the Hudson's Bay Company (Peter Skene Ogden) and the Mountain Fur Company ( John Henry Weber).
- 1850's. Mormon pioneers begin to arrive in Morgan County.
- 1855, Charles Shreeve Peterson and his family became the first white settlers to take up permanent residence in the Morgan Valley after cutting a road through Weber Canyon.
- 1862. January 17: Morgan County formed from the following counties: Summit/Weber/Cache and named after Jedediah Morgan Grant.
- 1869. Morgan County began keeping marriage records, land records, probate records, and court records.
- 1898–1905 Morgan County began keeping birth records and death records.
- 1906. Wasatch National Forest established by U.S. Forest Service.
- 1908. Cache National Forest established by U.S. Forest Service.
- 1960. Browning Arms Company founded in Morgan County.
Land and Property
- Land and Property Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Herdsmen branded their cattle to keep track of stray animals. A 1913 directory displays the marks used by various Morgan County, Utah cattle owners:
- Peterson, H.F. Brand Directory, Comprising Davis, Weber, Summit, Morgan, Wasatch, Part of Utah and Part of Uintah Counties. Wanship, Utah: H.F. Peterson, 1913. Digital version at Internet Archive.
Maps
Google highway map of Morgan County 2012
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Morgan County, Utah for European and African American settlers included:
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5]
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Small town newspapers contain obituaries, birth or death notices, community news (such as the visit of someone's relatives), legal notices and provide historical content. See Utah newspapers for tips, resources, and details.
- Utah Digital Newspapers Project presents newspaper images online. Search All Newspapers by name or keywords, or Browse by County to view all newspapers digitized for Morgan County, Utah.
- Several newspapers, covering 1910-1914, 1920-1924 are included.
- Existing copies of newspapers. newspapers for Morgan County, Utah] are listed in Chronicling America by Library of Congress (LOC).
- The list by dates and towns (from Chronicling America)
- Newspapers Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Obituaries
Obituaries may mention birth, marriage, spouse, parents, and living family members. See Utah Obituaries for state level compendiums and United States Obituaries for tips and insights regarding this record type.
Obituaries for residents may be found in:
- Newspapers of Morgan County, Utah
*Local Funeral Homes, Societies, Libraries, or in family records.
*Obituaries of neighboring counties
*Newspapers of major cities: Deseret News and/or The Salt Lake Tribune both in Salt Lake City
Periodicals
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
In Utah, such records may be difficult to find. Try records of the church they may have attended. Realize, however, that such records may have not been preserved, and would not be in the typical records of membership.
It is possible there were records kept by civilian authorities. Ask town or county officials and local librarians and the State Archives. Also try National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (online).
Probate Records
- Probate Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Public Records
- Public Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Taxation
Vital Records
- Vital Records. of Morgan County, Utah are listed in the FamilySearch Library. To obtain closer-to-home access to resources, see. public libraries.
Birth
- Below are the best sources to find birth information (dates and places of birth and names of parents) for Morgan County, Utah. Also available: How to Find Birth Information in Utah.
- Follow the suggestions under the year span that matches when your ancestor was born:
Birth before 1862
- Morgan County, Utah was formed on 17 January 1862
search parent counties
| Before county formation, go to Utah Censuses to locate the family around the time of birth. |
Birth 1862 - 1897
- No birth records were created for Morgan County, Utah by either by county or state civil authorities in this time period.
- Follow these suggestions to find birth information for this time period:
- Utah Death Certificates 1904-1961 give birth date and place (recorded at the time of death), names of parents, and name of spouse. Search by names or by exact death date.
- Church records usually give birth date and place and names of parents.
- See also other records that give birth information, such as Death records, Census, Funeral Homes, Cemeteries, Obituaries
- 1872-1900 (approximately) USGenWeb Archives for Morgan County, Utah shows the birth Information from Draft Cards of 1917 - 1918.
- See also neighboring counties for birth information, due to family members living in that area, religious preferences, convenience, and other reasons.
Birth 1898 - present
- County clerks became responsible for recording births beginning in 1898.[6] In 1905, the State Department of Health assumed responsibility and required the counties to forward copies of the records to them.
| It took a few years after the requirements for people, doctors, midwives, and officials to comply, so some early birth registrations were missed. |
- Records open to the public
- Birth records created more than 100 years ago[7] are open to the public.
- 1897-1905 Series #83806 at Utah State Archives. Not online, no online index. Copies available through FamilySearch Library: FSL film 480872 It. 1-3 . There are names of children in the records.
- 1906-1910 online images for Morgan County, Utah at the State Archives. Browse the "not yet indexed" area by year and county. Most entries do have names of children.
- Later records open to the public are housed at the Utah State Archives, but not online.
- Online Utah, Births and Christenings, 1892-1941, a FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. (Index only, free). Created from the old IGI, this is a mix of some extracted records and submissions by patrons. Please realize it is not complete.
- Restricted records
- Access to official birth records within 100 years is restricted to those who meet certain requirements. Order copies:
- Office of Vital Records and Statistics, 288 North 1460 West, Salt Lake City, Utah, Phone: (801) 538-6105. How to order online, by mail, or in person.
- Weber-Morgan Health Department, Morgan Office, 236 Young Street. Phone (801) 399-7132.
Marriage
- 1887-1966 - Western States Marriage Index. Includes Morgan County 1887-1966.[8]
Death
Utah Death Certificates 1904 - 1956 -A free internet access to the 1904-1956 death certificates can be viewed at Family Search . Utah requires a death certificate before a burial is completed. A death certificate may contain information as to the name of the deceased, date of death, and place of death, as well as the age, birthdate, parents, gender, marital status, spouse and place of residence. More information at Utah Death Certificates (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Utah State Burial Index for death before 1904
Death Record Substitutes
- 1870 - U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 at Ancestry ($). Includes 1870 Morgan County, Utah mortality schedule.
- 1870 - U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 at Ancestry ($). Includes 1870 Morgan County, Utah mortality schedule.
Voting Registers
Websites
Repositories
Resources for Morgan County, Utah are available in repositories (such as libraries and archives) at all levels: the town, the county, the state, and the nation. Check their websites and catalogs for Morgan County, Utah items.
| When you find items you'd like to access, see Get a Copy. |
See Courthouse · FamilySearch Centers · Libraries · Societies sections.
See also: Websites
Courthouse
www.morgan-county.net/
Morgan County Justice Court
P.O. Box 786
Morgan, UT 84050
Phone 801-845-4021
Fax 801-845-6008
Physical Address:
Morgan County Memorial Building
48 West Young St.
Morgan, Utah 84050
County seat: Morgan
FamilySearch Centers
Libraries
Local public libraries usually have histories, genealogies, indexes of cemeteries, copies of local newspapers, or other records for the area they serve. Many libraries in Utah have an area dedicated to local collections and manuscripts.
- Morgan County Library; 50 North 100 West, P.O.Box 600, Morgan, UT 84050. Phone: 801-829-3481.
- Collections:
Check for Morgan County, Utah items in catalogs and holdings of: Utah Archives and Libraries · University Libraries and Special Collections in Utah · United States Archives and Libraries
See also Utah Public Library Directory, which provides links to library web pages, addresses, phone numbers, hours, and maps. Does not mention holdings.
Societies
Towns and Communities
Croydon | Devils Slide | Monte Verde | Morgan | Mountain Green | Peterson | Richville | Stoddard
References
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 676-677. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morgan County, Utah Page 687 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory.(Youngstown, OH: Nomis Publications, Inc., c2009,938.
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ Utah State Archives, Birth Records guide, accessed 28 July 2012.)
- ↑ State Department of Health Birth, Marriage, and Death Certificates page. Accessed 7/31/2012
- ↑ "Morgan County, Utah: Family History and Genealogy, Census, Birth, Marriage, Death Vital Records and More," Linkpendium, http://www.linkpendium.com/genealogy/USA/UT/Morgan/, accessed 1 February 2012.
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 17:08.
- This page has been accessed 3,892 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




