Morley St Botolph, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Morley St Botolph, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Morley St Botolph, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Forehoe
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Forehoe PLU
Registration District Forehoe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hingham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MORLEY (St. Botolph), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Forehoe, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Wymondham. [1]
Morley St Botolph is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

MORLEY (St. Botolph), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Forehoe, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Wymondham; containing 328 inhabitants. The parishes of Morley St. Botolph and Morley St. Peter comprise 1860a. 3r. 5p., of which 1409 acres are arable, and 397 pasture and meadow, and 30 woodland. The living is a rectory, with the living of St. Peter's annexed, valued in the king's books at £14. 11. 5½.; patron and incumbent, the Rev. C. B. Cooper: the tithes have been commuted for £580, and the glebe comprises 44 acres, with a handsome house, nearly rebuilt by the present incumbent. The church is in the early and later English styles with a square embattled tower. From: 'Morley - Morton-upon-Lug', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 345-350. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51160 Date accessed: 14 March 2011.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Forehoe 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Morley St Botolph, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Morley St Botolph, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1539-1893
1539-1900
1538-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1539-1893 Undefined 1539-1912 Undefined 1539-1812
JOIN
1814-1836

NBI

1813-1838
TIN 1813-1880

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 3 /1-6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438856.

Poor Law Unions


Forehoe http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/forehoe_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.345-350. Date accessed23 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,055 times.