Morris County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kansas
Morris County
Morris County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Morris County, Kansas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Kansas | |
![]() Location of Kansas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 30, 1855 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Council Grove |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Morris County Courthouse 501 W. Main Street Council Grove, Kansas 66846-1701 Phone: 316.767.5518 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Morris County Courthouse
501 W Main Street
Council Grove, KS 66846
Phone: 316.767.5518
Formerly Wise County. Name changed to Morris 11 Feb 1859.
Probate Judge has marriage and probate record.
City Clerk has burial and death.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]
History
Parent County
1855--Morris County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Council Grove [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Men from Morris county enlisted in the Morris County Rangers--Cavalry, Neosho Guards--Cavalry, Clark's Creek Rangers--Cavalry, Neosho Rangers, Cavalry and Council Grove Guards--Infantry and the 6th Regiment, Kansas Southern Division.
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Morris County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morris County, Kansas page 253, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2013, at 17:57.
- This page has been accessed 1,008 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

