Morrow County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Morrow County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Morrow County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Morrow County Courthouse 48 E. High St. Mount Gilead, Ohio 43338-1458 Morrow County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Delaware, Knox, Marion, and Richland Counties 24 February 1848.[1]
- County Seat: Mount Gilead
- Neighboring Counties: Morrow County, Ohio residents may also have records in [2]Crawford (north) · Delaware (south) · Marion (west) · Knox (east) · Richland (northeast)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Morrow County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Tombstone Transcription Project
LDS Cemetery Records
Vol. 21 page 24 - unidentified cemetery
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morrow County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Morrow County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories
History of Morrow County, Ohio: A Narrative Account of Its Historical Progress, Its People, and Its Principal Interests, Volume 1 (Google Books)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Maps
Military
- Civil War service men from Morrow County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morrow County.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Morrow County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Morrow County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Morrow County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [3] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Morrow County Courthouse
48 East High Street
Mount Gilead, OH 43338
419.947.2085
Probate Court has birth and death records 1856-1857 and 1867-1908, marriage and probate records from 1848 and naturalization records 1848-1894;
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1908. County Recorder has land records from 1848 and military records. Common Pleas Court has divorce and court records.[1]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morrow County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Morrow County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Morrow County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Morrow County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Marriage
Death
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 (FamilySearch.org) Index and images of Ohio death certificates. You must have a FamilySearch account and be logged in to view images.
- Ohio, Death Index, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2007 (FamilySearch.org) Free index. Provides death certificate number. Order originals through the Ohio History Store ($).
- Ohio, Deaths and Burials, 1854-1997 (FamilySearch.org) Index. Provides FHL Film number of original death certificate.
- Ohio Death Certificate Index, 1913 - 1944 (Ohio Historical Society) Free index. Search by county and timeframe. Order originals through the Ohio History Store ($).
Web Sites
- The Morrow County OH GenWeb Project, a member of The OHGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
The Townships that came from Delaware County are: Westfield, Lincoln, Harmony, Peru and Bennington.
The Townships that came from Knox County are: Franklin, Chester and South Bloomfield.
The Townships that came from Marion County are: Canaan, Cardington, Gilead (some of what is now Gilead was in Knox County) and Washington. Morven Township lands, Marion County, were ceded to Morrow County, but did not continue to exist by that name.
The Townships that came from Richland County are: North Bloomfield, Troy, Congress and Perry.
Populated Places
Map: The Townships of Morrow County
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Morrow County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morrow_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 19:21.
- This page has been accessed 2,158 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


