Morrow County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Morrow County

Guide to Morrow County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Morrow County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Morrow County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 16, 1885
County Seat Heppner
Courthouse
Address Morrow County Courthouse
100 North Court Street
Heppner, Or 97836
Phone: 541-676-5603
Morrow County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has divorce, court and land records from 1885. [1]

Morrow County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Morrow County Court House as of August 2008.

Morrow County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

Historical Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Marrow County, Oregon

Parent Counties

16 February 1885: Morrow county was created from the western portion of Umatilla and the small eastern portion of Wasco Counties. [2]

Named for Jackson L. Morrow, one of the first settlers of Morrow County, who was a member of the state legislature when the county was created.

The county seat is Heppner.

  • County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Morrow County Court House as of September/October 2003.
  • Record Loss:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Boardman | Heppner | Ione | Irrigon | Lexington

Communities
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Eightmile | Ruggs

Discontinued Post Offices

Acton | Alpine |

Neighboring Counties

Gilliam | Grant | Umatilla | Wheeler | Benton, Washington | Klickitat, Washington

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Land and Property

History

Maps

Ormorrow.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Morrow County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Morrow County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morrow County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 September 2014, at 17:45.
  • This page has been accessed 4,660 times.