Morton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Morton, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Morton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Parish History

Morton, Nottinghamshire
Morton St Denis Nottinghamshire.jpg
Morton St Denis Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

MORTON (St. Denis), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 2½ miles (S. E.) from Southwell.[1]

Additional information:

Morton St Denis or Denys is a Parish church which dates from 1756. Morton is a village and civil parish in the Newark and Sherwood District of Nottinghamshire Morton Wikipedia

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the church and parish history Morton St Denis

The Parish Church of St Denis has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Morton St Denis parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
MORTON PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undisclosed


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1640-2008 Marriages 1640-2007 Burials 1640-2007 Bishop’s Transcripts 1622-1846

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 [

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Morton

Bailey, Brian. Misterton Scrapbook. The Scrapbook mainly concerns Methodism and was possibly compiled by James Stothard of Misterton, a farmer. He included the Gainsborough (Wesleyan Methodist) circuit which included West Stockwith, Misterton, Beckingham, Walkeringham, Sturton and Bole with a list of members, some starting as early as 1817. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 793/1. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 73-88 with an alphabetical listing. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census


Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Morton in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 19:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,961 times.