Morton County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Morton County, Kansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Morton County

Guide to Morton County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Morton County, Kansas
Map of Kansas highlighting Morton County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Founded February 18, 1886
County Seat Elkhart
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Morton County Courthouse
1025 Morton Street
Elkhart, Kansas 67950-1116
Phone: 316.697.2157


County Information

Morton County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1887 1860 1887 1887

County Courthouse

Morton County Courthouse
1025 Morton Street; PO Box 1116
Elkhart, KS 67950-1116
Phone: 316.697.2157

Created as Kansas County 1873. Reorganized as Morton County 18 Feb 1886.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1887,
divorce and court records from 1900 and land records from 1887. [2]


Parent County

  • 1886--Morton County was created 18 February 1886 from Kansas (Old) County. County seat:Elkhart[3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties





Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Morton County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.



  • Morton County was not organized until after the Civil War.


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morton County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Morton and click Probate records.


Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morton County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 October 2015, at 18:08.
  • This page has been accessed 4,050 times.