Morton County, North DakotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png North Dakota Gotoarrow.pngMorton County
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records North Dakota
Online Records


Morton County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


Morton County, North Dakota
Map
Map of North Dakota highlighting Morton County
Location in the state of North Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Dakota
Location of North Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 8, 1873
County Seat Mandan
Courthouse
Address Morton County Courthouse
210 2nd Ave NW
Mandan, ND 58554
Phone: 701.667.3355
Morton County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Clerk District Court has birth records.  Court has birth records from 1883,
marriage records from 1888, death records from 1873, burial records from 1943,
divorce and probate records from 1900’s and court records from late 1800’s;
Register of Deeds has land records from late 1800’s[1]

History

Parent County

1873--Morton County was created 8 January 1873 from unorganized territory. County seat: Mandan [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Burleigh | Emmons | Grant | Mercer | Oliver | Sioux | Stark

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery transcriptions for cemeteries in Morton County, providing name, date of birth, and date of death where available.

Census

  • 1880
  • 1885
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1915
  • 1920
  • 1925
  • 1930

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about North Dakota denominations, view the North Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. For more information on this, see North Dakota Land and Property.

After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Morton County, North Dakota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section North Dakota Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morton County, North Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records of North Dakota are at the county clerk's office in each county courthouse. See above for the address of this county's courthouse. Some later estate records are available at the North Dakota Supreme Court. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota.

See the Wiki page North Dakota Probate Records for additional information.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: dockets, guardians records, administrators records, real estate records, personal property records, and claim registers.

School Histories

Flasher School History:

Flasher is a city within Morton County, North Dakota

The first school house was a one room building completed in 1902. The first regular school term was 1903-1904, there were 30 pupils. The original building of what is now the Flasher Public School was built in 1911. High school was started in the fall of 1916 with a small enrollment. From this small beginning the enrollment increased and more room was needed. The first formal graduation ceremony took place in 1922 with three graduating students.

In the spring of 1957, due to increased enrollment, it became necessary to enlarge the educational facilities. Included in the new addition were a gymnasium and a shop. In 1958 the Flasher School District 39 went through the task of reorganization. As a result, the following are now part of the Flasher School District No. 39: Weekes, Fairview, Big Bend, Fair Valley, part of Oak Coulee, Lark, Lonesome, part of Raleigh, part of Three Buttes, Freda, Timmer and Shields. In 1965 a new section of the elementary classrooms was built and in 1975 four more classrooms were added.

Taken from: ""School Reunion 1922-1977, Schools of Flasher, Freda, Raleigh"" Saturday, June 18 1977"

Taxation

The location of tax records of North Dakota depend on the type of tax. Some are at the clerk's office in the county courthouse, while others are in the state archive. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of tax records from North Dakota.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morton County, North Dakota. Page 525 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 17:30.
  • This page has been accessed 4,501 times.