Morton Jeffries, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Morton Jeffries, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Morton Jeffries, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Radlow
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Bromyard PLU
Registration District Bromyard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1711
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hereford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MORTON-JEFFRIES, a parish, in the union of Bromyard, hundred of Radlow, county of Hereford, 5½ miles (S. W.) from Bromyard. [1]

Morton Jeffries is a hamlet and civil parish in Herefordshire with a redundant Anglican parish church (dedication unknown) which formed an Ancient Parish. Morton Jefferies Wikipedia

The church was declared redundant in 1980 is now in the care of the of the Churches Conservation Trust Churches Conservation Trust website

See also Morton Jefferies Church Wikipedia

The parish church has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

See Herefordshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Bromyard Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/MoretonJeffries/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848, pp. 345-350. Accessed and adapted 19 March 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 November 2014, at 01:42.
  • This page has been accessed 626 times.