Morvah, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Morvah, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Morvah, Cornwall
Morvah chapel&Church Cornwall.jpg
Morvah chapel&Church Cornwall
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1617; For more records see Madron
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MORVAH, a parish, in the union of Penzance, W. division of the hundred of Penwith and of the county of Cornwall, 6 miles (N. W.) from Penzance. There are places of worship for Bryanites and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Morvah, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[5]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[6][7][8]
FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
Morvah, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1906
1814-1903 (gaps)

BOYD
1614-1772

COPC 1653-1912
1617-1913
1683-1772, 1813-1938
CPRI 1840-1905

1655-1904
FMP 1653-1875 1619-1837 1619-1837
FREG 1653-1874
1617-1909
1653-1907
FS PRs 1653-1874 1653-1909 1653-1907
IGI 1650-1885 1813-1837

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 156

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241265.

Poor Law Unions

Penzance Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Morvah in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 350-353. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  6. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  10. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  11. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 960 times.