Mottram in Longdendale, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1583
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MOTTRAM-IN-LONGDENDALE (St. Michael), is a parish, in the union of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Macclesfield, and Northern division of the county of Chester; comprising the townships of Godley, Hattersley, Hollingworth,Matley, Mottram, Newton, Stayley, and Tintwistle; it is 10 miles (E. by S.) from Manchester.  Within the parish are three stations on the Manchester and Sheffield railway, one about a mile from Mottram, one at Newton, and the third at Woodhead. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Mottram in Longdendale St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient parish in Cheshire and includes Godley, Hattersley, Stayley, Matley, Micklehurst, and Hollingworth.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Mottram in Longdendale like this:

MOTTRAM, a sub-district in the district of Ashton-under-Lyne, and county of Chester; containing the townships of Mottram, Hattersley, Hollingworth, and Tintwistle, in Mottram-in-Longdendale parish. The full name of Mottram in Longdendale was established by 1308 - literally meaning "place where meetings are held in the dale of the long valley".

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church records

Mottram in Longdendale St Michael registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = findmypast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Mottram in Longdendale St Michael Parish (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1811-1838, 1883-1892
1811-1886

FS PR's 1562-1909
  NONE
1562-1864
  NONE
1559-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1892
  NONE
1599-1886
  NONE
1598-1892
  NONE
FMP (£)



1802-1988
1802-1988
NBI

1802-1988

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

  • Mottram-in-Longdendale, St. Michael (C of E). An ancient parish, originally serving the townships of Godley, Hattersley, Hollingworth, Matley, Mottram, Newton (near Hyde), Stayley and Tintwistle. Registers of Baptisms 1562–1991, Marriages 1558–1993 and Burials 1559–1988 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office

Parish registers for Mottram-in-Longdendale, 1559-1988   Church of England. Parish Church of Mottram-in-Longdendale

Notes Cheshire, Church of England  records are available online in Record Search,
Microfilm of original records in possession of Manchester Public Library. Microfilm copy of original records (1990, 1998 filmings) in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Cheshire Record Office no.: P25/1/1-6, P25/2/1-9, P25/3/1-6, 8-19; P25/4/1-2; P25/4108/1,8; P25/5/1-6; P25/6/1, P25/2664/1/1-2; P25/10/1-3.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1559-1669. Marriages, 1559-1603. Burials, 1559-1669. BRITISH 2106998 Item 10
Baptisms, 1670-1823. Marriages, 1601-1754. Burials, 1670-1802. BRITISH 2106999
Baptisms, 1823-1838. Banns, 1754-1797. Marriages, 1754-1825. BRITISH 2107082
Marriages, 1825-1836. Burials, 1684-1735, 1802-1838. Baptisms, 1684-1745. BRITISH 2107083
Burials, 1733-1745; marriages, 1684-1745. BRITISH 2107084 Item 1
Burials, 1814-1833. BRITISH 2107084 Items 3 - 4
Baptisms 1684-1747. Christenings 1562-1802. Marriages 1559-1754. Burials 1559-1801. Dissenters 1739-1764. BRITISH 424859
Baptisms, Burials 1802-1838. BRITISH 424860
Marriages 1754-1837. BRITISH 424861
Baptisms, 1838-1884. Marriages, 1837-1840, 1844-February 1845. BRITISH 2103773 Items 3 - 7
Marriages, January 1840-March 1864. BRITISH 2103774
Marriages, March 1864-1912. Burials, 1838-1875. BRITISH 2103775 Items 1 - 5
Baptisms, 1884-1975. Burials, 1875-1988. Banns, 1830-1855. BRITISH 1656452 Items 10 - 13
Banns, 1837-1855. Baptism draft registers, 1814-1841. Burial draft registers, 1814-1832. Churchwarden accounts, 1782-1820. BRITISH 1656487
Churchwarden accounts, 1820-1867. BRITISH 1656488 Items 1 - 2
Marriages, 1912-1949. BRITISH 2356823 Items 4 - 6
Burials, 1802-1838 (another filming). VAULT BRITISH 2356824

Parish chest and poor law records for Mottram-in-Longdendale, Cheshire, 1667-1861 
Parish Church of Mottram-in-Longdendale (Cheshire)  Microfilm copy of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Cheshire Record Office no.: P25/9/1, P25/2664/8, P25/5070/15.

Other Content FHL Film
Church rates, 1830-1833. BRITISH 2107084
Apprenticeship papers, 1667-1751. Organ property trust, minutes and accounts, 1823-1861. BRITISH 2107084 Items 5 - 6

Bishop's transcripts for Mottram-in-Longdendale, 1599-1892
Notes Cheshire, Church of England marriage records are available online in Record Search Cheshire, Church of England christening records are available online in Record Search
Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.Includes records for the chapelry of Woodhead. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/151

Bishop's transcripts  Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1600, 1605, 1607-1608, 1610, 1611-1612, 1614-1615, 1617-1623, 1625-1626, 1628-1630, 1632, 1634-1637, 1639-1641, 1664-1666, 1668-1677, 1680-1682, 1684-1685, 1687, 1689-1695, 1697-1699. BRITISH 1736871 Items 5 - 6
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1699, 1701-1733, 1735-1739, 1741-1748, 1751, 1761-1776. BRITISH 1736977 Items 3 - 11
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1751, 1753, 1755-1760, 1776-1785, 1797-1810. BRITISH 1736979 Items 7 - 10
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1811-1824. BRITISH 1737057
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1825-1833, baptisms, marriages, 1834. BRITISH 1737058
Marriages, burials, 1834. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1835, 1837. Baptisms, burials, 1838, 1885-1892. Baptisms, 1884. BRITISH 1737059 Items 1 - 3

Broadbottom, St. Mary Magdalene. Built in 1889 as a chapel to Mottram-in-Longdendale. Registers of Baptisms 1889–1995 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office (no marriages or burials here).

Non-Conformist Churches
  •  Broadbottom, Church of the Immaculate Conception (Roman Catholic). Founded 1896.
  •  Mottram, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan).
  •  Mottram, Unitarian Chapel. Built in 1846.
  •  Mottram, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1846.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records, 1798-1834  Mottram Chapel (Mottram-in-Longdendale, Cheshire : New Conexion Methodist) 

Notes Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London. Births and baptisms, 1798-1834. RG-4 series no. 187.

Other Content FHL Film
Church records BRITISH 20048 Item 16

Baptisms from the Methodist Chapel, Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire
Stmnt.Resp. transcribed by Aril Hulme ; index by Sally Allett Microreproduction of manuscript housed at the Manchester and Lancashire Family History Society Library, Manchester Includes index. Manchester and Lancashire FHS Library no.: RC 650

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms from the Methodist Chapel, Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire BRITISH 1656925 Item 5

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Ashton under Lyne (1837-1936)

Poor Law Unions

  • Ashton under Lyne

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mottram in Longdendale on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 4,979 times.