Mount Hawke, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Mount Hawke, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mount Hawke, Cornwall
Mount Hawke Church Cornwall.jpg
Mount Hawke Church Cornwall.
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith; Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Redruth; Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AGNES (ST.), a market-town and parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Pyder, and of Cornwall, 8½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Truro, and 263 (W.) from London. A church district named Mount Hawke was formed in 1846,out of the parishes of St. Agnes and Illogan. There are places of worship for Bryanites, Independents, and Wesleyans. [1]

Mount Hawke St John the Baptist was created as an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1846 from St Agnes, Cornwall Ecclesiastical Parish, and Illogan, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

The parish church is on the south edge of the village and is dedicated to St John the Baptist. It is built of local stone with Bath stone dressings in the Perpendicular style and was consecrated in 1878

Mount Hawke also has an active Methodist chapel and there were formerly Wesleyan chapels at Mawla, Mount Hawke, and Skinner's Bottom.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mount Hawke, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3]
Mount Hawke, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1878-1906
1878-1913

FMP 1839-1852

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to

Cornwall Record Office reference: P 159

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Mount Hawke.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241271.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mount Hawke in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-17. Date accessed: 13 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,301 times.