Mount Pleasant, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Mount Pleasant, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mount Pleasant, Cumberland
Type Township
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allerdale above Derwent
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Whitehaven PLU
Registration District Whitehaven
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Copeland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

"Mount Pleasant or Whitehaven, , a township, seaport, and market town, in the parish of St Bees Cumberland, 14 miles S. of Maryport and 38 miles SW. of Carlisle by rail.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Transcripts of baptismal, marriage and death records, 1585-1837 Chapelry of St. Nicholas Whitehaven

Bishop's transcripts for Chapelry of St. James', Whitehaven, 1753-1878

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241277.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Whitehaven on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson. Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. 1870-2, Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 17:20.
  • This page has been accessed 879 times.