Mountfield, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mountfield, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Battle PLU|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
MOUNTFIELD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Battle, partly in the hundred of Staple and Henhurst, but chiefly in that of Netherfield, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 2½ miles (S.) from Robert's-Bridge.
Mountfield All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Rother district of East Sussex three miles north west of Battle.
The Parish Church of All Saints has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Mountfield
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 14:36.
- This page has been accessed 1,199 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki