Mow Cop, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Mowcop, Staffordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Mow Cop, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mow Cop, Staffordshire
St Thomas Church, Mow Cop Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Congleton; Stone; Wolstanton and Burslem PLU
Registration District Congleton; Wolstanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle under Lyme
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Mowcop is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1843 from Wolstanton Ancient Parish, Keele Ecclesiastical Parish, Hanford Ecclesiastical Parish and Biddulph Ancient Parish; Exact boundary unknown. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Mowcop include: Primitive Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist.[1]

The name is first recorded as "Mowel" around 1270 AD. It is believed to have come from either:

Anglo-Saxon Mūga-hyll = "heap-hill", with copp = "head" added later
The Common Celtic ancestor of Welsh moel (= hill), with Anglo-Saxon copp added later.
At its summit men had quarried stone to make into querns used for milling corn since the Iron Age; this trade ended in the Victorian period.

Mow Cop is noteworthy as the birthplace of the Primitive Methodist movement. Starting in 1800, Hugh Bourne from Stoke-on-Trent and William Clowes from Burslem began holding open-air prayer meetings. On 31 May, 1807 a large 14-hour camp meeting was held and as a result the Primitive Methodist Church was formed in 1810. These camp meetings became a regular feature at Mow Cop and camps were also held to celebrate the 100th, 150th and 200th anniversaries of the first camp.

Mow Cop is a village on a high isolated hill. The village straddles the Cheshire–Staffordshire border and is thus also divided between the North West and West Midlands regions of England.

Parts of the parish lie in the Cheshire East District since 1974 and part in Newcatle under Lyme District of Staffordshire. Accordingly parts of the parish lie in different Poor Law Unions and registration districts.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Online index for Congleton registration district Cheshire BMD

See also Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Mow Cop St Thomas was formed in 1843 from parts of Biddulph, Staffordshire and Wolstanton, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical parishes.

Mow Cop parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
MOW COP PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1894-1901


FMP 1842-1876 1842-1876 1669-1876 1669-1876 1670-1901 1670-1901

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1842-1973 Mar 1844-1990 Bur 1842-1913
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1842-1845 Mar none Bur 1845

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474622.


Poor Law Unions

Congleton Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Stone Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Wolstanton and Burslem Poor Law Union, Staffordshire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2014, at 20:34.
  • This page has been accessed 2,785 times.