Moxley, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Moxley, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Moxley, Staffordshire
Moxley All Saints Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon; South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall; Wolverhampton PLU
Registration District Walsall; West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MOXLEY, a village in Wednesbury parish, and a chapelry partly also in Darlaston and Wolverhampton parishes, Stafford. The village stands near the Oxford, Birmingham, and Wolverhampton railway, 1 mile S E of Bilston.[1]

Moxley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1845 fromDarlaston, Staffordshire  Ancient Parish and Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire  Ancient Parish and  Bilston, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Moxley All Saints was formed in 1845 from parts of Bilston, Staffordshire (St Leonard) Darlaston, Staffordshire and Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire parishes

Moxley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
MOXLEY ALL SAINTS (1838) PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1838-1876
1888-1900


FMP 1838-1901 1838-1901 1837-1900 1837-1900

FREG 1838-1880



1851-1903
FS 1838-1876
1851-1876


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1838-1977 Mar 1851-1992 Bur 1851-1960
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1832-1842 Mar none Bur none

Non-Conformist Churches

Moxley Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  MOXLEYWESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1844-1964





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Wolverhampton Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 70-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales&st=Moxley
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 00:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,755 times.