Much Woolton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Much Woolton, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Much Woolton, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prescot PLU
Registration District Prescot
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1826
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prescot
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WOOLTON, MUCH, a chapelry, in the parish of Childwall, union f Prescot, hundred of West Derby,S. division of Lancashire, 6 miles (E. S. E.) from Liverpool.The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

The Beatles connection

"Almost certainly the most important meeting in popular music history” is how the first meeting of John Lennon and Paul McCartney has recently been described. The meeting took place at St Peter’s Church Hall on the evening of Saturday, 6th July 1957
Whilst waiting to play at the church dance that night, John Lennon and the other members of the Quarrymen Skiffle Group were introduced to the young Paul McCartney by a mutual friend.

Although Paul McCartney has denied any association with the Eleanor Rigby of the song, the headstone of Eleanor Rigby can be found in the graveyard of St Peter.

Eleanor Rigby gravestone Woolton Lancashire.jpg

As with many of McCartney's songs, the melody and first line of the song came to him as he was playing around on his piano. The name that came to him, though, was not Eleanor Rigby but Miss Daisy Hawkins. In 1966, McCartney recalled how he got the idea for his song:

.“ I was sitting at the piano when I thought of it. The first few bars just came to me, and I got this name in my head... 'Daisy Hawkins picks up the rice in the church'. I don't know why. I couldn't think of much more so I put it away for a day. Then the name Father McCartney came to me, and all the lonely people. But I thought that people would think it was supposed to be about my Dad sitting knitting his socks. Dad's a happy lad. So I went through the telephone book and I got the name McKenzie. ”

Others believe that Father McKenzie refers to 'Father' Tommy McKenzie, who was the compere at Northwich Memorial Hall.

McCartney said he came up with the name Eleanor from actress Eleanor Bron, who had starred with The Beatles in the film Help!. Rigby came from the name of a store in Bristol, Rigby & Evens Ltd, Wine & Spirit Shippers, that he noticed while seeing his then-girlfriend Jane Asher act in The Happiest Days Of Your Life. He recalled in 1984, "I just liked the name. I was looking for a name that sounded natural. Eleanor Rigby sounded natural."

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

  • Prescot

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Much Woolton St Peter chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Childwall to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


WOOLTON ST PETER'S Chapelry  (1826) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1889 1838-1904 1826-1901
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1934 1837-1961 None
CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS(ancient parish containing WOOLTON ST PETER Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1557-1853 1557-1638, 1653-1838 None
LOPC 1557-1753 1557-1638, 1653-1753 1653-1728
LBMD None 1837-1963 None
AC 1557-1753 1557-1753 1557-1753


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Much Woolton St Peter and comprising the whole ancient parish of Childwall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS PARISH page.


Parish registers for Woolton, 1826-1904 Microfilm copy of original records housed at the Liverpool Record Office, Central Library, Liverpool.
Liverpool Record Office call no.: 283 WOO 2/1-3; 3/1; 4/1-3; 5/1.
Woolton is a chapelry in Childwall parish.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1826-1889; Marriages, 1837-1904.
FHL BRITISH Film
2147929 Items 4 - 7
Burials, 1839-1901; Banns, 1839-1890.
FHL BRITISH Film
2147930 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Halewood, 1839-1871 Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Includes records of Woolton.
Woolton is a chapelry in the parish of Childwall.

Content
Film
Baptisms 1839-1871 (Halewood); baptisms 1826-1874, burials 1830-1854 (Woolton).
FHL BRITISH Film
1068855 Item 3


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.


Poor Law Unions

Prescot Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.stpeters-woolton.org.uk/ forinformation about the parish and virtual tour of the church

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=41306 British History online

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 663-670. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 3,419 times.