Mucklestone, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Mucklestone, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mucklestone, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Market Drayton PLU
Registration District Market Drayton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1555
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccleshall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MUCKLESTONE, or Muxton, a township in Stafford, and a parish partly also in Salop; all in the district of Market-Drayton. The township lies near the river Tern at the boundary with Salop, 4½ miles N E of Market-Drayton r. station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mucklestone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
MUCKLESTONE PARISH (1555) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1555-1863 1555-1863 1556-1900 1556-1900
FREG 1555-1792
1555-1812
1555-1792
FS 1555-1869
1556-1701, 1813-1856

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 20:25.
  • This page has been accessed 979 times.