Muhlenberg County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Muhlenberg County

Guide to Muhlenberg County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records. Located in the Western Coal Fields region.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Muhlenberg County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Muhlenberg County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 14, 1798
County Seat Greenville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Muhlenberg Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Muhlenberg County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1799 1852 1810 1798 1801
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Muhlenberg County Courthouse
100 S Main Street
PO Box 525
Greenville, KY 42345-0525
Phone: 270.338.1441[1]

Muhlenberg County Kentucky History

Parent County

1798--Muhlenberg County was created 14 December 1798 from Logan and Christian Counties.
County seat: Greenville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Pronunciation

Variant Spellings

  • Muhlenbergh[4]
  • Muhlenburg
  • Muhlenburgh

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Muhlenberg County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bancroft Dunmor Lynn City Paradise
Beech Creek Earles Martwick Penrod
Beechmont Ebenezer McNary Powderly
Belton Ennis Mercer Rosewood
Bevier Gishton Midland Sandy
Bremen Graham Millport Skilesville
Browder Greenville Moorman South Carrollton
Central City Gus Morehead Stringtown
Cleaton Hillside Nebo Stroud
Davenport Landing Holt Nelson Union Ridge
Depoy Knightsburg New Cypress Weir
Drakesboro Luzerne Nonnell Wells

Neighboring Counties

Muhlenberg County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kymuhlenberg.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 1,443
1810 4,181 189.7%
1820 4,979 19.1%
1830 5,340 7.3%
1840 6,964 30.4%
1850 9,809 40.9%
1860 10,725 9.3%
1870 12,638 17.8%
1880 15,098 19.5%
1890 17,955 18.9%
1900 20,741 15.5%
1910 28,598 37.9%
1920 33,353 16.6%
1930 37,784 13.3%
1940 37,554 −0.6%
1950 32,501 −13.5%
1960 27,791 −14.5%
1970 27,537 −0.9%
1980 32,238 17.1%
1990 31,318 −2.9%
2000 31,839 1.7%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

For tips on accessing Muhlenberg County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Records of several courts are available at the Muhlenberg County Courthouse. Some of these records have been microfilmed and are available through the Family History Library, while others have been published.

County Court Orders

A transcription of Volume 1 of the Court Order Books is online at U.S. Genweb. Click here.

Brenda Collier Doss has published and indexed the first two County Court Order Books: Vol. 1, 1799-1804 and Vol. 2, 1804-1815. Marion Hammers' genealogical abstracts of county court orders appear as serial articles in the Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Genealogical Society's journal The Muhlenberg County Heritage. Journal volumes are individually indexed.

Circuit Court Orders

Brenda Collier Doss has published and indexed the first Circuit Court Order Book: Vol. 1, 1803-1807.

Bankruptcy

A few residents of Muhlenberg (also spelled Muhlenburg) County appear on the Bankruptcy Act of 1841 list for Kentucky, see: The National Archives at Atlanta.

Genealogy 

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General

Muhlenberg County Libraries Local History Annex    in Greenville, Kentucky ph# 270-338-5388 has many published histories of local families. In addition, a unique collection of family files regarding local families (arranged by surname), is available for public searches.

Many genealogies appear in the footnotes of Otto Rothert's A History of Muhlenberg County, see Local Histories.

The following books cover many Muhlenberg County families:

  • Jaggers, Michael and Melinda Jaggers. A New Country: Lewis, Tipton, Bruce, Lee, Williams, Walker and Associated Families Berry, Duvall, Earle, Gardner, Gill, Highley, Kincheloe, Oates, Randolph, Shank, Thompson, Wickliffe and Many Others. n.p.: M. Jaggers, 1990s. FHL Book 929.273 L585jm
  • Muhlenberg County Genealogical Society. Muhlenberg County, Kentucky History and Families, 1799-1996. Paducah, Ky.: Turner, 1996. FHL Book 976.9832 H2m
  • Murphy, Nathan W. Early Families of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky: Vincent, Wright, McElwain, Wilkins and Jarvis; Historical Information and Sources for More than 2,000 Descendants of Charles Vincent, William Wright, George McElwain, John Wilkins, and John Jarvis, Whose Numerous Progenitors [Descendants] Make Up a Large Portion of the Present Population of Muhlenberg County. Hanson, Ky.: David W. Murphy & Associates, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 V743m
  • Young, Laurie M. Family Notes on Keith, Lott, Sketoe, Donahoo and Arnold of Muhlenberg: Lear and Sheffield of Christian, Todd and Muhlenberg County, Kentucky; Smith and Beck, Spencer County, Indiana; Moffitt, Randolph County, North Carolina, Perry, Hickman and Humphries Co., Tn. Boise, Idaho: L.M. Young, 1990. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 K269y.
Bibliography
  • [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp.
  • [Bates] Rouse, Helen Elizabeth Girvin. "William Webb, Teacher: First English School in Washington County, Virginia," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1963):83-89.
  • [Beadnell] Anderson, Bobby. Beadnell. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B358ab.
  • [Buchanan] Anderson, Bobby. Buchanan. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B852a.
  • [Clark] Anderson, Bobby. The Sam Clark Family. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C549ab.
  • [Davis] McPherson, Lewin Dwinell. Kincheloe, McPherson, and Related Families: Their Genealogies and Biographies. Washington, D.C., 1951. FHL film 161929.
  • [Davis] Anderson, Bobby. The Davises of Jesse and Charity. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D294a
  • [Davis] Moore, Robert P. Ancestors and Nelson Co., Ky., Associates of the Kincheloe, Wickliffe, and Davis Families of Prince William County, Virginia. Lexington, Kentucky: R.P. Moore, 1996. FHL Collection
  • [Davis] Peyton, Helen E. Isaac Davis and Elizabeth Kincheloe of Virginia, Their Ancestors and Descendants, and Related Families. Charleston, S.C.: H.E. Peyton, 2005. FHL Book 929.273 D293p; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Dick] Hoffman, Muriel M. History of Peter and Christina Shutt Dick Family: Frederick County, Maryland, Wilkes County, North Carolina, Muhlenberg County, Kentucky, Simpson County, Kentucky, Sangamon County, Illinois, Cass, County, Illinois. Anchor, Ill.: Hoffman, 1970. FHL Book 929.273 D55h
  • [Doss] Murphy, Nathan W. Descendants of Azariah Doss and His Wife Lydia (Ayres) Doss. Hanson, Ky.: David W. Murphy and Associates, 1998. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D741m.
  • [Dozier] McPherson, Lewin Dwinell. Kincheloe, McPherson, and Related Families: Their Genealogies and Biographies. Washington, D.C., 1951. FHL film 161929.
  • [Dozier] Fancy, Steven G. Genealogy of the Reno Family in America, 1600-1900. 1997. FHL book 929.273 R295f.
  • [Dukes] Duke, Walter Garland. Henry Duke, Councilor, His Descendants and Connections. Richmond, Va.: Dietz Press, 1949. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online ; FHL Book 929.273 D885d. (see page 274 for Muhlenberg connection)
  • [Dukes] Brandenberger, Evelyn Duke. The Duke Family. 2 vols. [Houston, Texas]: E.D. Brandenberger, 1979-1995. FHL Book 929.273 D885b v. 1-v. 2.
  • [Finley] Anderson, Bobby. The Finleys: Francis Yank and Tommy Reb. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 F496ab.
  • [Fleming] Anderson, Bobby. The Fleming Family. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 F629ab.
  • [Forrester] Denham, Marion Lee. Stewarts, Forresters, and Related Families of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky: A History of the Ancestry and Descendants of Eli Stewart and Sarah Lelia Forrester. Henderson, Ky.: M.L. Denham, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 St49dm
  • [Free] Anderson, Bobby. Free Family. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 6249.
  • [Ganey] Rouse, Helen Elizabeth Girvin. "William Webb, Teacher: First English School in Washington County, Virginia," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1963):83-89.
  • [Garvin] Rouse, Helen Elizabeth Girvin. "William Webb, Teacher: First English School in Washington County, Virginia," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1963):83-89.
  • [Greenwood] Anderson, Bobby. The Greenwoods of Muhlenberg County. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 G856a.
  • [Grove] Grisham, Violet Lee Carter. Pioneers to Williamson County, Illinois, George Zacharias and Isaac Groves and Their Descendants. Marion, Ill.: V.L.C. Grisham, 199-?. FHL Book 929.273 Z11c.
  • [Groves] Grisham, Violet Lee Carter and Edward Dean Grisham. Time Traveler. Marion, Ill.: V. Grisham, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 G919gv.
  • [Hoskinson] Anderson, Bobby. The Hoskinson Family. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H793a.
  • [Jarvis] See General.
  • [Kincheloe] McPherson, Lewin Dwinell. Kincheloe, McPherson, and Related Families: Their Genealogies and Biographies. Washington, D.C., 1951. FHL film 161929.
  • [Kincheloe] Moore, Robert P. Ancestors and Nelson Co., Ky., Associates of the Kincheloe, Wickliffe, and Davis Families of Prince William County, Virginia. Lexington, Kentucky: R.P. Moore, 1996. FHL Collection
  • [Kincheloe] Fancy, Steven G. Genealogy of the Reno Family in America, 1600-1900. 1997. FHL book 929.273 R295f.
  • [Kincheloe] Peyton, Helen E. Isaac Davis and Elizabeth Kincheloe of Virginia, Their Ancestors and Descendants, and Related Families. Charleston, S.C.: H.E. Peyton, 2005. FHL Book 929.273 D293p; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Lanier] Ingersoll, Louise. Lanier: A Genealogy of the Family Who Came to Virginia and Their French Ancestors in London. Washington, D.C.: Goetz Printing Company, 1965. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • [Lovelace] Harned, Mrs. Earl L. "The Lovelace Family," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):16-21; Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):58-63.
  • [McClellan] Anderson, Bobby. McClellan-- The Longest Name?. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 6259; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [McElvain] See General.
  • [McFarland] Anderson, Bobby. McFarland. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 6258.
  • [McLean] Trotter, Sally Stone. McLean - The Family of Judge Alney and Tabitha McLean of Greenville, Kentucky. Greenville, Miss.: S.S. Trotter, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 M223t
  • [McLean] Trotter, Sally Stone. McLean - New Data on the Family of Judge Alney and Tabitha McLean of Greenville, Kentucky and Collateral Families of Johnson and Whittemore. Greenville, Miss.: Burford Brothers Printing Co., 1989. FHL Book 929.273 M223ts
  • [McNary] M'Nary, William Pollock. The M'Nary Family in the United States. Bloomington, Ind.: W.P. M'Nary, 1878. FHL Film 1035700 Item 6.
  • [McNary] McNary Family with Trees and History. Pittsburgh, Pa.: McNary & Simpson, Printers, 1907. Digital version at Internet Archives.
  • [Martin] Smith, Pearl O. A Crom (Crum)-Martin-Vaught (Vought) Connection. n.p.: P.O. Smith, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 C88sp; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Matherly] Anderson, Bobby. Matherly/Matherlee: The Family of John Woodford Matherly (1829-1894). Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 199-?. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 7812.
  • [Miller] Peck, Mary J. Black. Saline County Cousins Illinois. Carrier Mills, Ill.: M.J.B. Peck, 1991, 1993. FHL Books 929.273 Sh27p v. 1-v. 2
  • [Nanney] Anderson, Bobby. The Nanney Families. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 N155a.
  • [Penrod] Anderson, Bobby. The Penrod Family: The Family of Tobias Penrod of Mud River. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 P386a.
  • [Randolph] Randolph, Blanche Willie Grace and Deborah Ann Kraemer Small. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia. Little Rock, Arkansas: B. Randolph, 1979. FHL books 929.273 R159rb and supp.
  • [Randolph] Small, Deborah Ann Kraemer and Blanche Willie Grace Randolph. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia, Volume II. Winter Park, Florida: D. Small, 1989. FHL Collection
  • [Randolph] Raski, Arma, James Randolph, and Glenita Guthrie. Additions & Corrections to Vol. II, the Randolphs of Prince William Co., VA by Deborah K. SmallFHL 6075877
  • [Reno] McPherson, Lewin Dwinell. Kincheloe, McPherson, and Related Families: Their Genealogies and Biographies. Washington, D.C., 1951. FHL film 161929.
  • [Reno] Randolph, Blanche Willie Grace and Deborah Ann Kraemer Small. The Randolphs of Prince William County, Virginia. Little Rock, Arkansas: B. Randolph, 1979. FHL books 929.273 R159rb and supp.
  • [Reno] Fancy, Steven G. Genealogy of the Reno Family in America, 1600-1900. 1997. FHL book 929.273 R295f.
  • [Rhoads] Brownlee, Frances Smith. Antecedents and Descendants of Margaret Ann Rhoads Smith (1860-1949): A Genealogical, Historical, and Reminiscent Account of Some Rhoads, Newman, Parker, Wright, Hamilton, Ramsay, and Related Families in Their Pioneer Days. Wichita, Kan.: F. Brownlee, 1957. FHL Film 560191 Item 1
  • [Rhoads] Crosthwaite, Georgia E. and Bennett L. Smith. Our Simmons Forefathers and Their Descendants. Fort Worth, Texas: B.L. Smith, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 Si47cr
  • [Rhoads] Rhoads, J. Paul. The Family of Henry, the Elder. Green Valley, Ariz.: J.P. Rhoads, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 R346rj
  • [Rhoads] Cooper, Austin. Rhoads Family, ca. 1712-1982. Typescript, Willard Library,   Evansville, Ind. FHL Film 1481381 Item 14
  • [Rhoads] Smith, Robert K. Rhoades Rumors: A Family Newsletter. Provo, Utah: R.K. Smith, 1988-1993. FHL Book 929.27305 R346
  • [Rhoads] Rhoads Family Association et al. The Rhoads Family Newsletter: by the Rhoads Cemetery and Family Association.
  • [Rhoads] Steele, Betty Ann Williams.Williams and Weaver Ancestors. 3 vols. Las Cruces, N. Mex.: B.A.W. Steele, 1993-2000. FHL Book 929.273 W67st v. 1 to v. 3
  • [Rhoads] Rhods, Alvin Lee. The Rhoads Family (Rhoades, Rhodes, Rhods): of Pennsylvania and Kentucky, Descendants of Henry Rhoads Sr. of Bedford County, Pa. Madison, Ala.: A.L. Rhods, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 R346ra
  • [Rhoads] Engel, Marie Leighty. Henry Rhoads Senr.: Immigrant and Earliest Descendants. Salisbury, Md.: M.L. Engel, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 R346en
  • [Rhoads] Rhods, Alvin Lee and Rhoads Family Association. The Rhoads Quarterly: Publication of the Rhoads Family, Descendants of Henry Rhoads of Bedford County, PA. Madison, Ala.: A.L. Rhods, 1999-. FHL Book 929.27305 R346rq
  • [Rhoads] Smith, Pearl O. A Crom (Crum)-Martin-Vaught (Vought) Connection. n.p.: P.O. Smith, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 C88sp; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Rhoads] Isenhart, Marcella. Heinrich Roth: Early 1700's-1774. Dubuque, Iowa: M. Isenhart, 2002. FHL Book 921.73R742i
  • [Rhoads] Rhods, Alvin Lee. The Rhoads Family in America. Madison, Ala.: A.L. Rhods, 2008. FHL Book 929.273R346raL
  • [Roberts] Vaughn, Cassandra Lee. The Story of Frances Louise Roberts Vaughn: Her Ancestors and Descendants. Endwell, New York: C.L. Vaughn, c1996. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online ; FHL Book 929.273 V465vca.
  • [Ryan] Anderson, Bobby. Ryan: Captain James Buckner Ryan. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 R955a.
  • [Skipworth] Anderson, Bobby Neil. Skipworth: A Genealogy, Backward and Forward, of the W.P. Skipworth Family with Related Carver Lines. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B.N. Anderson, 1990. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sk36a.
  • [Sumner] Anderson, Bobby. Sumner. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Su66ab.
  • [Stewart] Denham, Marion Lee. Stewarts, Forresters, and Related Families of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky: A History of the Ancestry and Descendants of Eli Stewart and Sarah Lelia Forrester. Henderson, Ky.: M.L. Denham, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 St49dm
  • [Studebaker] Crosthwaite, Georgia E. and Bennett L. Smith. Our Simmons Forefathers and Their Descendants. Fort Worth, Texas: B.L. Smith, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 Si47cr
  • [Vaught] Smith, Pearl O. A Crom (Crum)-Martin-Vaught (Vought) Connection. n.p.: P.O. Smith, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 C88sp; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Vincent] See also General.
  • [Vincent] Vincent, Janie Wright and Warren J. Ashton. Descendants of Charlie Vincent (1805-1894) and Elizabeth Highley (1810- 1899) of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky. Typescript, 1963. FHL Book 929.273 V743a.
  • [Webb] Rouse, Helen Elizabeth Girvin. "William Webb, Teacher: First English School in Washington County, Virginia," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1963):83-89.
  • [Welch] Worstell, Linda M. Osias Welch of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky and His Descendents. Sandy, Utah: L.M. Worstell, 1988. FHL Book 929.273 W442wo
  • [Whitney] Anderson, Bobby. Whitney. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W611a.
  • [Wickliffe] Moore, Robert P. Ancestors and Nelson Co., Ky., Associates of the Kincheloe, Wickliffe, and Davis Families of Prince William County, Virginia. Lexington, Kentucky: R.P. Moore, 1996. FHL Collection
  • [Wickliffe] Peyton, Helen E. Isaac Davis and Elizabeth Kincheloe of Virginia, Their Ancestors and Descendants, and Related Families. Charleston, S.C.: H.E. Peyton, 2005. FHL Book 929.273 D293p; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Wilkins] See General.
  • [Wood] Anderson, Bobby. Wood: The Family of Joseph Wood. Goodlettsville, Tenn.: B. Anderson, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W85ab; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Wright] See General.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Muhlenberg County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Deed Book 1: 1799-1807
  2. Deed Book 2: 1807-1814
  3. Deed Book 3: 1809-1813
  4. Deed Book 4: 1813-1817
  5. Deed Book 5: 1817-1823
  6. Deed Book 6: 1823-1828
  7. Deed Book 7: 1828-1832

Brenda Collier Doss has published abstracts of Deed Books 1-14 (1798-1850).

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Muhlenberg County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Otto Rothert's 1913 A History of Muhlenberg County is available online. The volume is indexed and can be keyword searched using Google Books search.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

Two genealogical abstracts of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Revolutionary War Pensions have been published:

1. The Muhlenberg County Heritage, Vol. 1 (1978).

2. Annie W.B. Bell, Muhlenberg County, Kentucky, Pension Records: Abstracts of Pension Papers of Soldiers of the Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Indian Wars Residing in Muhlenberg County, Kentucky (n.p.: n.p., n.d.).

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Muhlenberg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in or near their county. Muhlenberg men served in: [6]

- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies B, H, I, and K
- 3rd Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies D, F
- 17th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union)
- 26th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union)
- 48th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union)

Less than 150 Muhlenberg County citizens joined the Confederate Army.[6]

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Dozens of issues of The Record (Greenville, Ky.) up to 1920 have been digitized by the Library of Congress - free. Also available on subscription site Newspapers.com.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Muhlenberg County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Will Indexes and Abstracts

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Muhlenberg County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Will Book 1: 1801-1814
  2. Will Book 2: 1814-1829
  3. Will Book 3: 1831-1877

Marion Hammers' Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Abstracts of Wills and Administrations (1799-1877) covers probate records found in will books. Available at FHL.

Online Wills and Administrations

Wills Books 1 to 9 (1801-1968) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.

Administrator Settlement Books 1 to 8 (1834-1918) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.

Administrations Abstracts

Marion Hammers' serial articles of genealogical abstracts of county court orders in the Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Genealogical Society's journal The Muhlenberg County Heritage cover hundreds of probate administrations not found in will books. The journal volumes are individually indexed. 

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[7] digitized by Ancestry ($).

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1862 - Muhlenberg County Birth Index 1852-1862. Batch C517801 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
  • 1874 - Muhlenberg County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517802 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
  • 1875 - Muhlenberg County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517803 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
Marriage
  • 1852-1862 - Muhlenberg County Marriage Index 1852-1862. Batch M517801 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
  • 1875 - Muhlenberg County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517804 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
  • 1876-1878 - Muhlenberg County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517805 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
Unsorted

Ancestry.com a subscription web site has Kentucky Birth, Marriage and Death Records 1852-1953 indexed with images. Death records are complete for Muhlenberg County for the years 1911-1953 and many earlier years also survive.

Muhlenberg County Libraries Local History Annex   Greenville, Kentucky ph# 270-338-5388 has access to many Kentucky birth and death records as well as Muhlenberg marriages. Also much more. Library workers are glad to do look-ups for a fee. I can also do look-ups free but am not as competent as the workers. my e-mail address is: sandralatham@hotmail.com

Muhlenberg County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Muhlenberg County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Muhlenberg County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Muhlenberg County, Kentucky page 274, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
  4. Samuel R. Brown, The Western Gazetteer or Emigrant's Directory, Containing a Geographical Description of the Western States and Territories, viz. The States of Kentucky, Indiana, Louisiana, Ohio, Tennessee and Mississippi: and the Territories of Illinois, Missouri, Alabama, Michigan, and North-Western. Auburn, N.Y.: H.C. Southwick, 1817. Digital versions at NIU Library Digitization Projects and World Vital Records ($).
  5. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Otto A. Rothert, A History of Muhlenberg County (Louisville, Ky.: John P. Morton & Company, 1913), 253.
  7. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:46.
  • This page has been accessed 26,499 times.