Multnomah County, OregonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Oregon
Multnomah County
Guide to Multnomah County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Multnomah County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Oregon | |
![]() Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 22, 1854 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Portland |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Multnomah County Courthouse 1021 SW 4th Avenue Portland, OR 97204-1123 Phone: 503.248.3511 Multnomah County Website |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has divorce, court and land records from 1854 [1]
Multnomah County Information
| ||||||
Boundary Changes
22 December 1854: Multnomah county was created from Clackamas and Washington Counties. Named after Native American people first recorded in the journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, the Mulknomans, who inhabited the area of Portland, most specifically on Sauvie Island. [2]
- County Records Inventory listing Multnomah County records as of October 2006 inventory.
- Record Loss:
Trivia Tidbits
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries (Urbanized area in and near Portland)
- Caruthers, Beth Israel, Jefferson Street, and Stark Cemeteries, early Portland cemeteries.
- Pleasant Home Cemetery, Gresham BillionGraves
- Mt. Calvary & Gethsemani Catholic Cemeteries, online index.
- St. Mary's Cemetery, Portland's Pioneer Catholic Cemetery, index.
- Willamette National Cemetery, Portland BillionGraves
Cemeteries (Rural)
Census
- 1860
- 1870
- 1880
- 1890
- 1895---State census, lists only names (no age or birthplace). An index is available in the Oregon Historical Records Index, at the Oregon State Archives.
- 1900
- 1910
- 1920
- 1930
Church Records
Lutheran
- Records of Central Lutheran Church, Portland, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Court Records
Gazetteers
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Multnomah County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:
- Columbia River
- Willamette River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- Barlow Road 1846 from The Dalles to Oregon City
Military History and Records
Newspapers
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records
Rivers and Waterways
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. Rivers and Waterways
Taxation
Vital Records
The Genealogical Forum of Oregon has placed an index on-line to the following marriage books: (FI$)
- 1855 - 1874 of the Multnomah County Marriage Books
- 1875 - 1879 of the Multnomah County Marriage Books
- 1880 - 1884 of the Multnomah County Marriage Books
- 1885 - 1889 of the Multnomah County Marriage Books
- 1890 - 1894 of the Multnomah County Marriage Books
- 1895 - 1899 of the Multnomah County Marriage Books
- 1900 - 1904 of the Multnomah County Marriage Books
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Portland Oregon East Family History Center
- Portland Oregon Family History Center
- Gresham Oregon Family History Center
Websites
- The Multnomah County GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- Linkpenium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site)
Multnomah County Oregon Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Multnomah County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 02:06.
- This page has been accessed 2,742 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


