Murray County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Murray County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Murray County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 3, 1832|
|Address|| Murray County Courthouse|
101 N 3rd Avenue
Chatsworth, GA 30705;
Murray County Website
Murray County Courthouse
101 N 3rd Avenue
Chatsworth, GA 30705;
Probate Court has birth and divorce records from 1924, marriage records from 1842 and probate records from 1890; Clerk Superior Court has court records from 1834
Clerk of Superior Court
121 N. 3RD Ave.
P.O. Box 1000
Chatsworth, GA 30705
Phone: (706) 695-2932
Fax: (706) 517-9672
Probate Court of Murray County
115 Fort Street
Chatsworth, GA 30705
Phone: (706) 695-3812
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
No reported loss or damage.
- Zion Hill
- Murray Gardens
- Center Valley
- List of Rangers of 1838 Georgia Pioneers $
- List of Superior Court Judges and Clerks Georgia Pioneers $
- List of County Sheriffs Georgia Pioneers $
- List of Tax Collectors and Receivers Georgia Pioneers $
- GA-Roots A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Georgia. (Rootsweb)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Murray County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Murray County Heritage
Regiments. Service men in Murray County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Murray County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 11th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- - 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- - 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A; Company B, 3d Battalion
- - 39th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and B
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (information for other wars is also given)
- Murray County History Committee. 1987. Murray County heritage. Roswell, Ga: WH Wolfe Associates, Historical Publications Division. (page 116, 154) 975.831 H2m digital version
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Murray County). 1964. Confederate roster and pension roll, 1861-1865, 1920-1938. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. (United States, Georgia, Murray -- Military records -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Pensions.) Film 381843
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Murray County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch Catalog. Do a Place search for Murray County, Georgia Genealogy to find these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Probate Records
- 1742–1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742–1990 Georgia Probate Records 1742-1990 at FamilySearch images
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- 1840-1922 - Murray County, Georgia Will Testators Index (Vols. 1, B) at SamPubCo - free.
- 1840-1872 - Wills 1840-1872 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers $
- 1872-1922 - Wills 1872-1922 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers $
- 1840-1872 - Digital Images of Murray County Wills 1840-1872. See testators. Georgia Pioneers $
- 1840-1872 - Index to Will Book 1, 1840-1872 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1872-1922 - Index to Will Book 2, 1872-1922 Georgia Pioneers $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1834-1849 - Murray County Marriage Book B 1834-1849 Index. Batch M713431 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1847-1884 - Murray County Marriage Book 2 1847-1884 Index.
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1928-1939 Georgia Deaths 1928-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Whitfield-Murray Historical Society
P.O. Box 6180
Dalton, GA 30722
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Murray County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Murray County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Murray County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers ($)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Murray County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 45. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 9 October 2015, at 16:06.
- This page has been accessed 15,015 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News