Murston, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Murston, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Murston, Kent
Murston All Saints Kent.jpg
Murston All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Milton
County Kent
Poor Law Union Milton PLU
Registration District Milton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Murston was an Ancient Parish near Sittingbourne in Kent.

The church of All Saints was rebuilt in 1873-1874 by William Burges at Church Road Sittingbourne and has been designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage.

Murston is now a suburb of Sittingbourne for local government purposes.

MURSTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Milton, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 1 mile (E. S. E.) from Milton. [1]



Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Murston, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Murston, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1591-1908
1631-1922
1583-1932
FS PRs 1823-1900

Kent Online Parish clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306869.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition


Poor Law Unions

Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 359-362. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,319 times.