Musbury, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Musbury, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Musbury, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Haslingden PLU
Registration District Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1852
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prestwich
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

MUSBURY (St Thomas), an ecclesiastical district, in the parishes of Bury and Whalley, union of Haslingden, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 3 miles southwest of Haslingden. The ecclesiastical district was constituted in Sept. 1844, with the township of Musbury forming more than half of it. Other places in the parish include: Musbury Heights, Musden Head, and Musbury Park. The Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306894.

Poor Law Unions

Haslingden, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53017 British History Online

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 359-362. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,659 times.