Muscatine County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  > Iowa > Muscatine County

Guide to Muscatine County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Muscatine County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Muscatine County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Muscatine
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse 

History

Parent County

1836--Muscatine County was created 7 December 1836 from Des Moines County. County seat:  Muscatine [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1864-- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cedar • Johnson • Louisa • Scott • Mercer County, Illinois • Rock Island County, Illinois

Muscatine CountyLouisa CountyDes Moines CountyHenry CountyJefferson CountyWashington CountyJohnson CountyCedar CountyClinton CountyScott CountyIowa CountyBenton CountyLinn CountyJones CountyRock Island CountyMercer CountyHenderson CountyWarren CountyWhiteside CountyHenry CountyKnox CountyIAMuscatine.JPG

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran

Zion Lutheran Church

  • Records of the Zion Lutheran Church, Muscatine County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Directories

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Muscatine County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Muscatine County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Muscatine County, Iowa:


- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies A and C
- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Companies A and G
- 7th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies A, D, H and I
- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies E and K
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
:- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company A
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company C
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company A
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
:- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
:- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Muscatine County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Muscatine - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records 

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers