Muscogee County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to Muscogee County

Guide to Muscogee County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Muscogee County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Muscogee County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded 11 December, 1826
County Seat Columbus
Courthouse
Address Muscogee County Courthouse
100 10th Street
PO Box 1340
Columbus, GA 31902
Phone: 706.653.4013
Muscogee County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Muscogee County Courthouse
100 10th Street
PO Box 1340
Columbus, GA 31902
Phone: 706.653.4013

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1838[1]

Beginning Dates for Muscogee County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1838

History

Parent County

1826--Muscogee County was created 11 December 1826 from Creek Indian Lands.
County seat: Columbus [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1838. The courthouse and court offices at Columbus burned 8 October 1838. Almost all the county records were lost.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records
  • Columbus

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Muscogee County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Martin, John H. Columbus, Geo., From Its Selection as a "Trading Town" in 1827, to Its Partial Destruction by Wilson's Raid, in 1865: History, Incident, Personality. Columbus, Ga.: T. Gilbert, 1874-1875. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
     :*Telfair, Nancy. A History of Columbus, Georgia: 1828-1928. Columbus, Ga.: Historical Pub. Co., c1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gamuscogee.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Muscogee County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Muscogee County, Georgia:



- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Ramsey's) (Confederate), Company B
- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and G
- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 11th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 17th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and F
- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, G and I
- 28th Battalion, Georgia Siege Artillery (Confederate), Company D and G
- 31st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and B
- 35th Battalion, Georgia (Confederate), Companies A and B
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and K; Companies F and K, 3d Battalion
- 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 46th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies F and I
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war's information is also given)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Muscogee County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • Wills 1838-1862 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($) *Wills 1862-1875 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($) *Wills 1875-1882 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($) *Index to Will Book A, 1838-1863 Georgia Pioneers ($) *Index to Will Book B, 1862-1875 Georgia Pioneers ($) *Index to Will Book C, 1875-1891 Georgia Pioneers ($) *Index to Will Book D, 1891-1903 Georgia Pioneers ($) *Index to Annual Returns, Inventories, Book A, 1839-1843 Georgia Pioneers ($) *Index to Annual Returns, Book B, 1843-1848 Georgia Pioneers ($) *Index to Annual Returns, Book A, 1839-1843 Georgia Pioneers ($) *Index to Annual Returns, Book D, 1852-1854 Georgia Pioneers ($) ==== Taxation ==== Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • Marriage Books A and B, 1838-1844 Georgia Pioneers ($) Marriage *Marriage Books 1828-34, 1837-41, 1851-52, 1885-1886 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1826-1852 - Jefferey, Alice. Georgia Marriage Records, Houston, Muscogee, Talbot Counties. Digital version at Ancestry ($). *1838-1845 - Muscogee County Marriage Book B Index 1838-1845. Batch M713441 at FamilySearch - free.[4] *1845-1860 - Muscogee County Marriage Books C and D 1845-1860. Batch M713442 at FamilySearch - free.[4] *1860-1872 - Muscogee County Marriage Books E and F 1860-1872. Batch M713443 at FamilySearch - free.[4] *1872-1881 - Muscogee County Marriage Books G and H 1872-1881. Batch M713444 at FamilySearch - free.[4] *1881-1890 - Muscogee County Marriage Books I and J 1881-1890. Batch M713445 at FamilySearch - free.[4] *1890-1893 - Muscogee County Marriage Book K 1890-1893. Batch M713446 at FamilySearch - free.[4] *1893-1895 - Muscogee County Marriage Book L 1893-1895. Batch M713447 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Columbus Public Library
Genealogy Department
3000 Macon Rd.
Columbus, GA 31906
Telephone: (706) 243-2681
They offer local histories, biographies, censuses, maps, newspapers, genealogy classes, and more.

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Muscogee County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 45-46. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 15:34.
  • This page has been accessed 8,940 times.