Muskogee County, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png Muskogee County

Muskogee County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Muskogee County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Muskogee County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1898
County Seat Muskogee
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Muskogee County Courthouse
400 W. Broadway Street
Muskogee, Oklahoma 74401
Phone: 918.682.7781

Contents

County Courthouse

Muskogee County District Court Clerk's Office
PO Box 1350
Muskogee, OK 74402-1350

District Court Records: Civil - 1910 Divorce -1930 (prior to 1930 filed as civil cases) Small Claims Probate - 1907 Guardianships - 1907 Felony - 1907 Misdemeanor Traffic Adoption - 1908 Juvenile Mental Health Minister's Credentials Marriage - 1890 Notary Beverage and Process Server Licenses

Internet Access to Records: Recent Muskogee County records can be searched for at the Oklahoma District Court Records website.  As of 1 March 2013, the records for Muskogee County that were available there were from 3 Jan. 2003 - 28 February 2013.


Muskogee County Courthouse
400 W Broadway Street
Muskogee, OK 74401
Phone: 918.682.7781 

Clerk Court has marriage record from 1890, divorce, probate and court records from 1907; County Clerk
land records[1]

History

A Brief History of Muskogee

Parent County

1898--Muskogee County was created in 1898 from Creek Lands.
County seat: Muskogee [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Muskogee County, Oklahoma census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Muskogee County, Oklahoma. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Muskogee and Northeastern Oklahoma: including the Counties of Muskogee, McIntosh, Wagoner, Cherokee, Sequoyah, Adair, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Washington, Nowata, Craig, and Ottawa. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1922.

Maps

Okmuskogee.jpg


Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Muskogee County

Map showing Civil war battles in Oklahoma

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Muskogee County, Oklahoma newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Libraries, Societies and Museums

Public Libraries

Muskogee Public Library
801 W Okmulgee
Muskogee, OK 74401
Telephone: (918) 682-6657
Their collections include local histories, biographies, newspapers, and an online Muskogee Marriage Index.

Genealogy Societies

Muskogee County Genealogical Society
801 W Okmulgee
Muskogee, OK 74401
Telephone: (918) 682-6657
Email: mucogeso@yahoo.com
Established in 1983, Muskogee County Genealogical Society provides research services, publications, and online databases for those researching Muskogee County ancestors. Meetings, and educational opportunities are provided for all genealogists regardless of their research focus locations. Local MCGS members provide volunteer services and financial support to the Local History Genealogy collection at the Muskogee Public Library. MCGS is a member of the Federation of Genealogical Societies.
Their collections include: local newspaper, marriage, divorce indexes. Publications and quarterlies indexes.  Voluneeters will do research or look ups for a small fee, see website for details.

Museums

Three Rivers Museum
220 Elgin
Muskogee, OK 74401

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Muskogee County, Oklahoma. Page 561 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:22.
  • This page has been accessed 6,842 times.