Nafferton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-RGotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Nafferton

Guide to Nafferton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nafferton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dickering
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Driffield PLU
Registration District Driffield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dickering
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1653.

NAFFERTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Driffield, wapentake of Dickering, E. riding of York, 2¼ miles (E. N. E.) from Driffield. This parish is about seven miles in length, from north to south, and from two to three miles in breadth; and includes the pleasant village of Wansford, and the hamlet of Pockthorpe. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of NAFFERTON exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NAFFERTON PARISH (1720) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1837-1904
FS 1720-1874 1720-1866 None
JOIN None 1720-1838 None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464217.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 363-366. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire East Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 02:23.
  • This page has been accessed 2,012 times.