Nantucket County, MassachusettsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Massachusetts
Nantucket County
| Nantucket County, Massachusetts | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Massachusetts | |
![]() Location of Massachusetts in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | June 22, 1695 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Nantucket |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Nantucket County Courthouse 18 Broad Street Nantucket, MA 02554 Nantucket County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records from 1600's
Probate Court has probate and divorce records. Register of Deeds has
court records.[1]
This also double as Nantucket Town Hall.
History
Parent County
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Town:
Nantucket - The Town of Nantucket is same as the whole county.
Villages:
Coskata | Madaket | Polpis | Shawkemo | Siasconset | Wauwinet
Neighboring Counties
Barnstable | Dukes | Suffolk County, New York
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Nantucket County, Massachusetts census records online, see: Massachusetts Census.
State Census
1855 Massachusetts State Census—a free searchable index and images to the 1855 Massachusetts State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search. This index includes every name listed on the census and is linked to an image including information about each person’s residence and age in 1855, birthplace, occupation, other family members, and neighbors.
1865 Massachusetts State Census—a free searchable index and images to the 1865 Massachusetts State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This index includes every name listed on the census and is linked to an image including information about each person’s residence and age in 1865, birthplace, occupation, other family members, and neighbors.
Church
Court
Gazetteers
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- The Nantucket County MA GenWeb Project, an member of The MAGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Nantucket County
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Nantucket County
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Nantucket County, Massachusetts, p.330.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
| This Massachusetts-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 21 March 2013, at 00:31.
- This page has been accessed 1,443 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


