Nantwich, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Nantwich

Guide to Nantwich, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary's Church Nantwich Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

NANTWICH (St. Mary and St. Nicholas), is a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Nantwich, and the Southern division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Alvaston, Leighton, Woolstanwood, and part of Willaston. The town is only a few miles distant from the great railway station at Crewe. There are places of worship in the parish for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Unitarians.[1]

Nantwich St Mary a former chapelry of Acton Ancient parish in Cheshire includes Alvaston, Woolstanwood, Wool Stanwood, and Willaston.  The oldest building in the town is St Mary's Church, which dates from the 14th century. 

Following the dissolution of the monasteries, six chantry chapels were removed in 1548. Between 1572 and 1577 the transept ceilings were renewed, and between 1615 and 1633.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241248.

Church records

Nantwich St Mary and St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Nantwich St Mary and St Nicholas Parish (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1821-1867, 1871-1894
1826-1874

CPR 1572-1871
1572-1871
1572-1871
FS PR's 1572-1909
  NONE
1572-1910
  NONE
1572-1943
  NONE
FS BT'S 1596-1894
  NONE
1596-1871
  NONE
1596-1894
  NONE
JOIN
1572-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Nantwich, St. Mary & St. Nicholas (C of E). An ancient parish, originally serving the townships of Alvaston, Leighton (near Nantwich), Nantwich, Willaston (near Nantwich) (part) and Woolstanwood. Registers of Baptisms 1539–1944, Marriages 1876–1949 and Burials 1573–1943 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P120/4525/1-39.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1539-1653. Burials, 1539-1653. Marriages, 1572-1653. BRITISH 2104846 Items 12 - 13
Births and baptisms, marriages, burials, 1653-1762. Baptisms, burials, 1763-1825. BRITISH 2105029
Baptisms, Feb. 1824-Sep. 1910. BRITISH 2105030
Baptisms, Aug. 1910-1944. Marriages, 1754-Dec. 1853. BRITISH 2105031
Marriages, Dec. 1853-June 1910. BRITISH 2105032
Marriages, Feb. 1909-1949. Marriage banns, 1917-1920. BRITISH 2105033
Marriage banns, 1920-1937. Burials, 1813-July 1905. BRITISH 2105034
Burials, July 1905-1943. Registers of graves, 1885-1963. BRITISH 2105035 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's Transcripts Microfilm of manuscripts in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. The church is known as St. Mary's. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/153

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1596, 1600, 1603-1605, 1607-1614, 1618, 1620, 1622, 1624, 1626-1633, 1636-1639. BRITISH 1752199 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1658-1662, 1664, 1668-1679, 1681-1683, 1687-1698, 1700-1725, 1728-1729, 1731, 1736-1762, 1764-1774, 1776-1820. BRITISH 1786141
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1727-1728. BRITISH 1894521 Item 6
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1821-1830. BRITISH 1836131 Item 2
Burials, 1830. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1850. BRITISH 1836189
Baptisms, 1850-1870. Marriages, 1851-1863, 1868-1870. Burials, 1851-1870. BRITISH 1836190
Baptisms, burials, 1871-1894. Marriages, 1871. Burials, 1870. BRITISH 1836191

Barony, All Saints (C of E), The Barony. A chapel of ease to St. Mary & St. Nicholas, closed in 1971. Registers of Baptisms 1930–1971 are held at St. Mary & St. Nicholas. Burials 1930–1971 were recorded in the registers of St Mary & St Nicholas (no marriages here).

Non Conformist Churches

  • Nantwich, St. Anne (Roman Catholic), Pillory Street. Founded 1832, the present church was Built in 1936. Registers of baptisms 1868–1963, marriages 1869–1939 and burials 1868–1966 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Friends' Meeting House, Pillory Street. Founded 17th century, closed in 1928. Registers 1776–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Baptist Union Chapel, Market Street. Founded 1653, rebuilt in 1873.
  • Nantwich, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Hospital Street. Built in 1808. Registers 1819–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Welsh Row. Built in 1840.
  • Nantwich, Ebenezer Methodist Chapel (Free), Castle Street. Built in 1857, closed in 1908.
  • Nantwich, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Broad Lane. Built in 1864.
  • Nantwich, Wood Memorial Methodist Chapel (Primitive), The Barony. Built in 1881, closed in 1965. Registers 1920–1965 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Methodist Church, Pillary Street. Built in 1908, closed in 1966. Registers 1913–1965 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Unitarian Chapel, Hospital Street. Built in 1672, rebuilt in 1830. Records of baptisms 1894–1953, marriages 1896–1925 and deaths 1893–1925 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Nantwich, Unitarian Chapel (Baptist), Barker Street. Founded 1700.
  • Nantwich, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Church Lane/Monks Lane. Founded 1780, Built in 1842. Records of births/baptisms 1813–1955, marriages 1856–1934 and burials 1800–1905 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography

Bilsborough, Norman (1983), The Treasures of Cheshire, Manchester: The North West Civic Trust, pp. 155–157, ISBN 0901347353

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 285–287, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 September 2014, at 16:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,959 times.