Nasarawa State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Africa Gotoarrow.png NigeriaGotoarrow.pngNasarawa State

Guide to Nasarawa State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Nasarawa State
Nasarawa State is a state in central Nigeria. Its capital is Lafia.

Nasawara was created on October 1st, 1996 from the neighboring Plateau State.

Local Government Areas

Resources

History

Nasarawa state was created in 1996 out of neighbouring Plateau state. Located in the North-Central region of Nigeria, it is bordered on the West by the Federal Capital Territory, the North by Kaduna, the South by Benue and Kogi, and on the East by Plateau and Taraba states. Nasarawa’s main economic activity is agriculture; cash crops such as yam, cassava andegusi (melon). Production of minerals such as salt is also another major economic activity in the state; Nasarawa produces a large proportion of the salt consumed in the country.

Nasarawa has a diverse range of ethnic groups indigenous to the state. According to the 2006 census a little less than 2 million people reside in the state.

Genealogy

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 January 2015, at 14:42.
  • This page has been accessed 886 times.