Nash County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Nash County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Nash County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Nash County Courthouse
Rm 104 P O Box 104
Nashville, NC 27856
Reg of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913 and marriage records from 1872
Clerk Superio Court has divorce and court records 1876
oldest will in Dept of Archives Raleigh NC
Nash County was formed in 1777 from the western part of Edgecombe County. It was named for American Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Nash (1742-1777) of Hillsborough, who had been mortally wounded at the Battle of Germantown that year while fighting under General George Washington. Nashville, the County seat, was settled in 1780 and chartered in 1815. After the Revolutionary War, the County settled down to a pace that made it one of the State's leading farm areas. Since the Civil War, it has been known primarily as a leading agricultural County, but it has experienced steady industrial growth since that time.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Cemetery information at Nash County NCGenWeb
- Cemetery information at Nash County NCGenWeb Archives
- Find-A-Grave - Nash County cemeteries
- BillionGraves.com listings - Forest Hill Cemetery, Nashville
- Nash County census information - via Nash County NCGenWeb
For tips on accessing Nash County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Historical sketch of the First Presbyterian Church of Rocky Mount, North Carolina - via the Eastern NC Digital Library
- Several NC state business directories are available online. Visit this list of directories, open the directory, and navigate to Nash County. Directories include information on area businesses and citizens.
- Wesleyan College Yearbooks: 1962-2009 - freely available via the NC Digitization Center
- Rosenwald Schools in Nash County (African-American)
- Nash County students at NC colleges – via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
- [Boddie] Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.
- [Pridgen] Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online Pridgen family of Sapony Creek, Nash County, North Carolina : some descendants of William Pridgen, d. ca. 1762, Vol. II - full-text freely available via Brigham Young University.
The first land grants in the area date from 1743.
- Nash County deeds -- via NCGenWeb Archives
- Property records 1995 - present - searchable database via the Nash County Register of Deeds
- Local histories of Nash county
- Rocky Mount Mills : carded cotton yarns, Rocky Mount, N.C. - via the Eastern NC Digital Library
- Rocky Mount Mills, a case history of industrial development, 1818-1943 - via the Eastern NC Digital Library
- Nash County maps - via NC Maps collection of UNC-Chapel Hill
- Roster of Nash County Confederate soldiers - via the Eastern NC Digital Library
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
:- 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
:- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company A
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 1st Company E
:- 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain D W William's Company
- Nash County newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county; via the Library of Congress
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project - contains full-text papers from 1752-1890s. Search for your Nash County ancestors.
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Nash County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1776-1964 - Will Books 1 to 13 (1776-1964) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Nash County residents wills - via NCGenWeb
- Nash County wills & estates - via NCGenWeb Archives
Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds. Please visit their website for more information.
- North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964- search this name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state ; via FamilySearch
- Nash County Bastard Bonds 1787-1835 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1872-1944 - Nash County Marriage Index 1872-1944 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- North Carolina Marriages, 1762-1979 - via FamilySearch; images included
- Nash County marriages - are included in Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searcheable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- Nash County obituaries - via NCGenWeb Archives
- Nash County deaths - - list of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - via FamilySearch; images included
- North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - via FamilySearch
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Nash County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Nash County, NCGenWeb Project
- Nash County, USGenWeb Archives
- Nash County Register of Deeds
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Moore County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488; 2:566. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990; "Falls of the Tar Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:42.
- This page has been accessed 12,929 times.