Natchitoches Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Louisiana
Natchitoches Parish
Guide to Natchitoches Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Louisiana | |||||||||
![]() Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | April 10, 1805 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Natchitoches | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | 200 Church St Natchitoches, LA 71457 | ||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
Parish Courthouse
Natchitoches Parish Courthouse
PO Box 799
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0799
Phone: 318.352.2714
Clerk Court has marriage records from 1780,
divorce, probate and court records.[1]
History
Parent Parish
1805--Natchitoches Parish was created 10 April 1805 as an original parish.
Parish seat: Natchitoches [1]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Natchitoches Parish boundary changes. (map also shows parish boundaries for census years)
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
Resources
African American
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- LA Tombstone Transcription Project ~ partial records and photos ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Interment.net ~ LA cemetery records by county
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
- FindaGrave.com ~ cemetery records with search by cemetery, by surname
Census
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1900 | 33,216 | ||
| 1910 | 36,455 | 9.8% | |
| 1920 | 38,602 | 5.9% | |
| 1930 | 38,477 | −0.3% | |
| 1940 | 40,997 | 6.5% | |
| 1950 | 38,144 | −7.0% | |
| 1960 | 35,653 | −6.5% | |
| 1970 | 35,219 | −1.2% | |
| 1980 | 39,863 | 13.2% | |
| 1990 | 36,689 | −8.0% | |
| 2000 | 39,080 | 6.5% | |
| Est. 2006 | 38,719 | [2] | −0.9% |
| Natchitoches Parish Census Data[3] | |||
Church
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Natchitoches
- Red Rock
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection ~ USGenWeb Project
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Natchitoches Parish.
- April 23, 1864 = Monett’s Ferry, also known as Cane River Crossing[4]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.
Louisiana Military History Online
Newspapers
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
Probate
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Taxation
Vital Records
Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- LAGenWeb - Louisiana State Records
- USGenWeb ~ Records, Maps, Archives and Other Projects
- Louisiana Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Natchitoches Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22069.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 04:20.
- This page has been accessed 2,461 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



