Natrona County, WyomingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Wyoming
Natrona County
Guide to Natrona County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Natrona County, Wyoming | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Wyoming in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 9, 1888 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Casper |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Natrona County Courthouse 200 North Center Street Rm 157 Casper, WY 82601 Phone: 307.235.9200 Natrona County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 9 March 1888 from Carbon
- County seat: Casper [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Albany | Carbon | Converse | Fremont | Johnson | Washakie
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Casper and Casper Mountain
- Casper Mountain... aka Laymon Cemetery, Echo Canyon Cemetery, Elkhorn Canyon Cemetery SE1/4 SEC4 T32N R79W. ASHES ONLY. CR III 1961-1989
- Crimson Dawn... SEC23 T32N R79W. CR I 1889-1950
- Eadsville... SEC19 T32N R79W. CR I 1889-1950
- Fougstedt... SEC8 T23N R79W. CR I 1889-1950
- Highland (1889 to present)... Owned by the City of Casper. Phone 1-307-235-8317. CR I 1889-1950, CR II 1951-1985
- Memorial Gardens (1954 to present)... Privately owned. Phone 1-307-472-6345. CR III 1954-1989
- Old Pioneer... Unknown number of unmarked graves. Eleven cenotaphs and one illegible marker on Fort Caspar grounds.
- Oregon Trail (1984 to present)... Veterans cemetery. CR III 1984-1989
- Red Buttes... SW1/4 NW1/4 SEC16 T33N R80W. ON PRIVATE LAND. Memorial to the soldiers who died here in 1865. NO GRAVES. CR I 1889-1950
Surrounding County
- Annis Ranch... SEC14 T29N R85W. ON PRIVATE LAND.
- Arminto... SE1/4 NW1/4 SEC14 T37N R87W. CR I 1889-1950
- Bothwell... SE1/4 SEC21 T30N R85W. ON PRIVATE LAND. No visible graves. CR I 1889-1950
- Edgerton... SEC19 T40N R78W. CR I 1889-1950
- Freeland...S1/2 SW1/4 SEC14 T31N R80W.CR I 1889-1950
- Hiland... aka Wolton Cemetery SE1/4 SEC2 T36N R88W. CR I 1889-1950
- Martins Cove... No visible graves.
- Midwest... SEC21 T40N R79W. CR I 1889-1950
- Natrona County Isolated Gravesites... Many of these graves lie near the historic trails that passed through Natrona County in the mid-1800s. CR I 1889-1950
- New Alcova... SEC13 T30N R83W. CR I 1889-1950
- O'Donnell... NW1/4 NE1/4 SEC25 T36N R89W. ON PRIVATE LAND. CR III
- Old Alcova... NE1/4 NW1/4 SEC18 T30N R82W. CR I 1889-1950
- Pathfinder... SE1/4 SEC13 T29N R84W. One mile northeast of Pathfinder Dam. CR I 1889-1950
- Waltman... SEC20 T36N R86W. CR I 1889-1950
The Natrona County Genealogical Society has published records for these cemeteries and gravesites as noted above in Natrona County, Wyoming Cemetery Records, Vols. I through IV (CR I, CR II, CR III CR IV). These publications are available at the Natrona County Public Library and the LDS Family History Center in Casper. Many of these cemeteries also have extensive listings and photographs on Find A Grave.
Census
For tips on accessing Natrona County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Casper Stake
3931 W 45th St,
Casper, Wyoming 82604
307-265-1834
- Casper Stake
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Natrona County, Wyoming for European and African American settlers included:
- Platte River
- Sweetwater River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[2]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[3]
- Mormon Trail 1847 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[4]
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- Wyoming Newspaper Project Digitized and searchable newspapers published in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922.
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1888, military discharge records, power of attorney, notary and commissions tax license-state and federal.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records. [5]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
- Natrona County Public Library 307 E 2nd St, Casper, Wyoming 82601, 307-237-4935
- The Casper College Western History Center Located in the Goodstein Library on the Casper College campus.
- Natrona County Public Library 307 E 2nd St, Casper, Wyoming 82601, 307-237-4935
Museums
Societies
- Natrona County Genealogical Society P.O. Box 50665, Casper, Wyoming 82606
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Western States Marriage Index Over 390 marriages from 29 May 1890 to 15 Sep 1908.
- Wyoming Marriages, 1877-1920
Death
Websites
Places
| Alcova | Blue Hill (hist.) | Edgerton | Natrona |
| Allendale | Brookhurst | Evansville | Paradise Valley |
| Antelope Hills | Bucknum | Freeland (hist.) | Petrie |
| Arminto | Camel Hump | Hartrandt | Powder River |
| Badwater | Casper | Hiland | Red Butte |
| Bar Nunn | Casper Mountain | Homa Hills | Salt Creek (hist.) |
| Bessemer (hist.) | Cow Hollow | Midwest | Strouds |
| Bessemer Bend | Crimson Dawn | Mills | Vista West |
| Bishop | Eadsville (hist.) | Mountain View | Waltman |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map III" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap3.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Natrona County, Wyoming
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 April 2013, at 04:49.
- This page has been accessed 2,122 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

