Navajo County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png Navajo County

Guide to Navajo County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Navajo County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Navajo County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 21, 1895
County Seat Holbrook
Courthouse
Address 100 East Carter

P.O. Box 668
Holbrook, AZ 86025

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Navajo County, Arizona

Contents

County Courthouse

Navajo County Arizona
P O Box 668
Holbrook, Az 86025-0668
Phone: 520-524-4000

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce, probate
and court records, County Recorder has land records [1]

History

Udall, Don T. Udall Family Papers. 1946. Correspondence, family history manuscripts, photographs, and a "Record of Protests" ledger relating to Don Udall's service as Navajo County Superior Court Judge, and his family and genealogy. Correspondence, from his service as Judge, deals with routine matters such as employment, juvenile correction, adoptions, divorce, petitions for release from jury duty, assistance in obtaining probation, and state and local politics. There are manuscripts about the Udall and Patterson families as well as a history of the Holbrook Lions Club. There is a photograph of Don Udall. The alphabetical "Record of Protests" ledger lists protests over import duty rates for goods imported from Mexico; it gives name, type of material imported, means of transport into the country, and statement of resolution, 1923-1959. WorldCat 43080690

Parent County

21 March 1895 - Arizona created Navajo County from the west half of Apache County.[9] County seat: Holbrook [10] This county named for the Navajo Indians. Look for records in Apache and Navajo counties.

Boundary Changes

See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Allens Camp East Fork Keams Canyon Pinetop Smoke Signal
Aponi-vi First Mesa Kokopnyama Pintop-Lakeside Snowflake
Aripine Goodwater Kykotsmovi Pink Arrow Sponseller
Arntz Grasshopper Kykotsmovi Village Pinon Sunset City (hist.)
Baby Rocks Greasewood Lake of the Woods Pivahn-hon-kya-pi Sun Valley
Bacavi Hano Lakeside Polacca Taylor
Bell Hard Rocks Linden Rosedale Heights Tees Toh
Betatakin Overlook Headquarters Low Mountain Saint Joseph Tewa
Brigham City (hist.) Heber Mahtson-pi Seba Dalkai Toreva
Burton Hibbard Manila Second Mesa Tsegi
Buzzard Gulch Holbrook Holbrook, Arizona Mishongnovi Sevenmile Twin Buttes
Castle Butte Hotevilla Mumurva Shongopovi Walpi
Cedar Springs Hotevilla-Bacavi Na Ah Tee Shonto Wepo Village
Chakpahu Huk Ovi Navajo Gospel Mission Show Low West Winslow
Chilchinbito Indian Pine Nesuftanga Shumway White Cone
Cibecue Indian Wells Old Shongopavi (hist.) Shungopavi Whiteriver
Cibecue Creek Jeddito Oraibi Sichomovi Winslow
Clay Springs Joseph City Overgaard Silver Creek Woodruff
Clearview Heights Kawaika-A Penzance Sipaulovi Zeniff
Dilkon Kayenta Pinedale

























Neighboring Counties

Resources

  • Great Register of Navajo County, Arizona Territory. Navajo County [Ariz.]: County Recorder, 1800. WorldCat 71332919

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Navajo County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records: Clay Springs, Heber, Holbrook, Joseph City, Lakeside, Linden, Pinedale, Showlow, Shumway, Snowflake, Taylor, Winslow and Woodruff .

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Recorded documents can be search online. Searchable documents exist starting in 1989. Unofficial images are available starting in 1995. To search for older documents requires a visit to

   Navajo County AZ Recorders Office
   PO Box 668
   100 E Code Talkers Dr
   Holbrook AZ 86025
   Phone: 928-524-4190

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Navajo County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Journal of May Louise Hunt Larsen of Snowflake AZ. Journal kept between 1894 and 1943.

Maps

Aznavajo.png

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Navajo County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Navajo - Probate records.

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Arellano, Fay Louise Smith. Arizona Territorial Marriages. Navajo County, 1895-1912. Mesa, AZ: Arizona Genealogical Advisory Board, 2001. WorldCat 49016868

393 marriages from 13 May 1895 to 15 Feb 1912 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

Societies and Libraries

Navajo County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 473 >br. Holbrook, AZ 86025
Telephone 928-524-6558
Hours 8-5 daily

Show Low Historical Society
541 E. Deuce of Clubs St.
Show Low, AZ 85902
Telephone 928-532-7115 Hours 1-5 Tues.-Fri.; 10-2 Sat., April 15-Oct. 20

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers

Holbrook Arizona
1127 Helen Ave
Holbrook, Navajo, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-524-6663

Polacca Arizona
State Route 264
Polacca, Navajo, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-737-2505

Show Low Arizona
1401 W Deuce of Clubs
Show Low, Navajo, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-537-2331

Snowflake Arizona
284 W 1st N
Snowflake, Navajo, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-536-7430

Winslow Arizona
205 W Lee St
Winslow, Navajo, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-289-5496

Woodruff Arizona
Main St & 1st St
Woodruff, Navajo, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-524-2798

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Navajo County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  5. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  6. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  7. WorldCat 50140092 FHL CollectionHandybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  8. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1879, 10th assy./ pp. 96-97
  9. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1895, 18th assy./ pp. 96-105
  10. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 23:09.
  • This page has been accessed 8,361 times.