Neston, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Neston

Guide to Neston, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary's & St Helen's Church, Neston.jpg

Contents

Parish History

NESTON (St. Mary and St. Helen), is a parish, in the union, and Higher division of the hundred, of Wirrall, the Southern division of the county of Chester; containing with the townships of Ledsham, Leighton, Ness, Little Neston, Raby, Thornton-Hough, and Willaston. There are places of worship for Calvinists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. A Roman Catholic chapel, dedicated to St. Winifred, was built by Pugin in 1843.[1]

Neston St Mary and St Helen is an ancient parish. The earliest written evidence of a church on the site dates from around 1170.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church records

Neston St Mary and St Helen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Neston St Mary and St Helen Parish (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1565-1670


CPR 1559-1871
1559-1871
1559-1871
FS PR's 1559-1909
  NONE
1559-1934
  NONE
1559-1918
  NONE
FS BT'S 1593-1874
  NONE
1593-1836
  NONE
1593-1874
  NONE
JOIN
1559-1837

Willaston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WILLASTON Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1865-1902


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Cheshire, Church of England  records are available online in Record Search.

Neston, St. Mary & St. Helen (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Great Neston, Ledsham, Leighton (near Neston), Little Neston, Ness, Raby, Thornton Hough and Willaston (near Neston). Registers of Baptisms 1559–1965, Marriages 1559–1974 and Burials 1559–1918 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P149/1/1-5; P149/2/1-3; P149/3563/1-2; P149/4450/1-2, 4-7, 11-15, 22; P149/4617/1; P149/3/1-5; P149/4; P149/5/1-3.

Parish register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1559-1753.  Baptisms, burials, 1753-1812. BRITISH 2105092 Items 4 – 8
Baptisms, burials, 1809-July 1932. BRITISH 2105093
Baptisms, Apr. 1932-1952. Banns, 1754-1809. Marriages, 1754-Dec. 1921. BRITISH 2105094
Marriages, Dec. 1921-1951. Marriage banns, 1823-1950. Burials, 1813-Nov. 1851. BRITISH 2105095
Burials, Aug. 1851-1888. BRITISH 2105096 Items 1 – 2
Burials, 1888-1918. BRITISH 2262946 Item 2

Bishop's transcripts for Neston, 1581-1874 Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/154

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1587, 1593, 1604-1605, 1607, 1609-1612, 1614-1624, 1626-1627, 1630, 1632, 1634, 1636, 1638-1639, 1641-1642, 1666-1670, 1672-1677, 1679-1685, 1694-1695, 1700-1718, 1720-1723. BRITISH 1836385 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1723-1738, 1741-1745, 1749-1810, 1813-1817. BRITISH 1836386
Baptisms, 1817. Baptiams, marriages, burials, 1811-1812, 1818-1836. Baptisms, burials, 1837-1840, 1871-1874. BRITISH 1836387 Item 1

Parish Transcripts are available online at Cheshire Parish Register project.

Non-Conformist Churches

Neston, St. Wenefride (Roman Catholic), Burton Road. Built in 1843.
Neston, Zion Methodist Chapel, Little Neston (Primitive). Built in 1872.
Neston, Presbyterian Church. Built in 1884.
Neston, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Park Street/High Street. Built in 1908.
Neston, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Founded 1857, rebuilt in 1909.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Non-conformist records are available online in Record Search.
Church records of St. Winefride's Catholic Church, Neston, 1843-1943 Microfilm copy of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 5/5072/1-7. Mostly Latin.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1843-1943. Marriages, 1849-1935. Deaths, 1851-1906. BRITISH Film 2197775 Items 1 - 7

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Wirral (1894–1974)
  •  Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire West (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 255–259
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 58, ISBN 1871731232 
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 290–291, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,245 times.