Nether Poppleton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Nether Poppleton

Guide to Nether Poppleton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nether Poppleton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred York (Ansty)
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Ouseburn Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640; Separate registers exist for Upper Poppleton beginning 1829
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634; Separate records exist for Upper Poppleton beginning 1829
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Nether Poppleton St Everilda was an Ancient Parish in the unitary authority of the City of York  which included Upper Poppleton until the formation of Upper Poppleton All Saints in 1846. see Nether Poppleton Wikipedia

In 1866, the two Poppleton Parishes were united to form the Parish of Nether Poppleton with Upper Poppleton. All Saints' Church is situated on The Green in Upper Poppleton.

The present Methodist Chapel on the Green replaced two previous buildings on the site built in 1817 and 1819 respectively
The church of All Saints Hodgson Lane Upper Poppleton has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Poppleton History Society website

St Everilda

All Saints Upper Poppleton

POPPLETON, NETHER, a parish, in the E. division of Ainsty wapentake, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. W.) from York, on the road to Boroughbridge. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these . There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of NETHER POPPLETON exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
  NETHER POPPLETON PARISH (1775) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1813-1873

1775-1866

None

JOIN None

1813-1836

None

NBI

1780-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Upper Poppleton registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Upper Poppleton Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1829-1914 1829-1914
NBI

1829-1837

Link to the Family History Library film numbers in their collection Upper Poppleton - 1846.

For 1829-1836 see York St Mary Bishophill the Younger, Yorkshire

For 1837-1845 see Copmanthorpe, Yorkshire

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464205.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 593-596. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,318 times.