Netherlands - Marriage - 1811-PresentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

'1.'Marriage Register: Civil registration

Beginning in 1811, the government required civil registrars to keep marriage records. These records included more information than the earlier church marriage records.

What you are looking for
Civil registers are the best source for determining when a person was married.

Why go to the next record
Not all of the Dutch civil registry records have been microfilmed.

'2.'Register of Births: Civil registration
Beginning in 1811, the government required civil registrars to keep marriage records. These records included more information than the earlier church marriage records.

What you are looking for
If civil registry marriage records do not exist, civil registry birth records are the best source for determining when a person was married. The marriage date should be about one year before the first child's birth.

Why go to the next record
Not all birth records have been microfilmed.

'3.'Census: Census
Census or population records were not kept with any consistency or regularity before 1850. If an age is given, use the records to estimate a person's birth date. After 1850 birth dates and places are given. The records can also help identify all the members of a family and help determine where a family originated.

What you are looking for
When civil registry birth records do not exist, census records are the best source for determining when a couple was married. A census record may not give a marriage date for the parents, but it does give their names. The marriage date should be about one year before the first child's birth.

Why go to the next record
Not all census records have been microfilmed, and the beginning date of these records varies from place to place.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 April 2009, at 18:49.
  • This page has been accessed 822 times.