Netherthong, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Netherthong, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Huddersfield|
|Parish registers: 1830|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1830|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Netherthong is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1831 from chapelry in Almondbury Ancient Parish.
Other places in the parish include: Thong Bridge and Greave.
Wesleyan Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Netherthong.
Netherthong , eccl. dist. and township (ry. sta. Thongs Bridge), Almondbury par., West-Riding Yorkshire, 4½ miles S. of Huddersfield From: Bartholomew
THONG (Nether), a township and a chapelry in Almondbury parish, W. R. Yorkshire. The chapelry includes part of Honley township. 
THONG, NETHER, a township, in the parish of Almondbury, union of Huddersfield, Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 5¼ miles (S. by W.) from Huddersfield. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Netherthong exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NETHERTHONG PARISH (1827) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464243.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 328-330. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 19:35.
- This page has been accessed 1,972 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News