Nether Witton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Netherwitton, Northumberland)

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Nether Witton, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nether Witton, Northumberland
St Giles, Netherwitton .jpg
St Giles, Netherwitton
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morpeth
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Morpeth PLU
Registration District Morpeth; Rothbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1766
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Morpeth
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WITTON (Nether), a township in Morpeth district, and a parish partly also in Rothbury district, Northumberland The township lies on the river Font, 4 miles N of Angerton r. station, and 8 WNW of Morpeth. It has a post-office under Morpeth.[1]

St Giles Nether Witton was a parochial chapelry and included Coat Yards, Ewesley, Healey and Comb Hill, Nether Witton, Nunnykirk, Ritton, and Colt Park, and Ritton White House.[2]

Additional information:

In 1835 it was created as an Ecclesiatical parish from the Hartburn St Andrew, Northumberland Ancient parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Morpeth;Rothbury

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/185 Date: 1766-1880
Related material at DULASC: A transcript for May 1800 to July 1801 survives with the visitation papers for Netherwitton, reference DDR/EV/VIS/5/1801/9/1.
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records however the images for these parish register transcripts have not yet been loaded and await engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Netherwitton, St Giles: Records of baptisms 1696-1893, marriages 1706-1902 and burials 1696-1951 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1696-1812 and marriages 1706-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1706-1812 and banns 1751-1800. Transcripts of baptisms 1696-1719 and 1724-1812, marriages 1706-1812, burials 1696-1706 and 171(?)-1812, and baptisms of dissenters 1769-1778 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Netherwitton (microfiche TN77) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Baptisms from St Giles from 1696 to 1802 are available on the FreeREG web site.

Nonconformist Records

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.

Poor Law Unions

Morpeth Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/netherwitton-st-giles/ for information about the parish

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-238367-church-of-st-giles-netherwitton British Listed buildings

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51420 British history online

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,398 times.