Nettlecombe, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Nettlecombe, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nettlecombe, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Williton and Freemanners
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Williton PLU
Registration District Williton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunster
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NETTLECOMBE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Williton, hundred of Williton and Freemanners, W. division of Somerset, 7 miles (N. by W.) from Wiveliscombe.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nettlecombe, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[7]
NETTLECOMBE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1569-1860
1562-1836
1560-1851
FS 1598-1660s


JOIN
1686-1836

MARR
1540-1762

NBI

1598-1887
WEST 1559-1860
1562-1860
1560-1851

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474607.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Nettlecombe/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-374. Date accessed and adapted: 27 February 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.
  8. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 15:17.
  • This page has been accessed 651 times.