Nevada County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a southwestern county of Arkansas. For other uses, see Nevada (disambiguation).

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Nevada County

Guide to Nevada County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Nevada County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Nevada County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 20, 1871
County Seat DeWitt
Courthouse
Address Nevada County Courthouse
215 E 2nd St Street;
Prescott, AR 71857
Phone: 870.887.3115


Contents

This page adopted by Betsy Mills, Nevada County, ARGenWeb County Coordinator

County Courthouse

Nevada County Courthouse
215 E 2nd St Street;
Prescott, AR 71857
Phone: 870.887.3115

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1871 and cemetery records; Clerk Circuit Court divorce and court and land records from 1871.[1]

Beginning years for Nevada County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1871 1914* 1871 1871 1871
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

County seat: Prescott [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clark  • Columbia  • Hempstead  • Lafayette  • Ouachita  • Pike  •

Nevada CountyClark CountyPike CountyHot Spring CountyDallas CountyGrant CountyCalhoun CountyCleveland CountyOuachita CountyUnion CountyColumbia CountyMiller CountyLafayette CountyHoward CountyHempstead CountyARNevada.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Nevada County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Nevada County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Nevada County was inhabited in the prehistoric and contact period of early European exploration by the Prehistoric Caddo and then by the Caddo Indians.
  • 1803 - With the Louisiana Purchase, Euro-American settlers began to move into the region.
  • 1812 - Stephen Vaughan and his wife, Polly, came up the Ouachita and the Little Missouri rivers, settling at a place on the Little Missouri later known as Janes Ferry.
  • 1812 (after) - Vaughan was the first person in the county to be granted a federal land patent.
  • 1850s - The flood of immigration in the 1850s accelerated the trend of land patents, which continued to the brink of the Civil War.
  • 1860s - The area that would become Nevada County had only dirt roads and no towns of any size.
  • 1920-2010 - Nevada County hit its population high mark in 1920 with 21,934 and has had a steady decline until this time (2010) with only 8,997.

Maps

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Nevada County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Nevada County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1871-1922 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Bonds and letters 1872-1916; Probate records 1871-1893; Wills 1871-1922.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1947-1965 - Nevada County Birth Index 1947-1965. Batch C748988 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Nevada County Depot and Museum - http://www.depotmuseum.org/

403 West First Street South
PO Box 592
Prescott AR 71857
Phone: (870) 887-5821
Curator@DepotMuseum.Org

Nevada County doesn't have a genealogical society at this time, but the Hempstead County Genealogy Society does have information about Nevada County.
PO Box 756
Hope, AR 71802
hempsteadgen@yahoo.com

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Nevada County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Nevada County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Nevada County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Nevada County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Nevada County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012).
  6. 6.0 6.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 December 2014, at 21:57.
  • This page has been accessed 10,207 times.