Nevada County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to Nevada County

Guide to Nevada County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Nevada County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Nevada County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 25, 1851
County Seat Nevada city
Courthouse
Address Nevada County Courthouse
 950 Maidu Ave
Nevada City, CA 95959
Phone 530.265.1221

Nevada County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Nevada County Courthouse
 950 Maidu Ave
Nevada City, CA 95959
Phone 530.265.1221


County Clerk has birth and death records from 1873
marriage and land records from 1856
probate and court records from 1880[1]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Nevada County, California

Parent County

25 April 1851: Nevada County was created from Yuba County. County seat: Nevada City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

1856 and 1863: Courthouse burned twice and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Nevada County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Grass Valley

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Nevada County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Canevada.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Nevada County, California for emigrant settlers included:[3][4]

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Nevada County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nevada County, California:


- 1st Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company G
- 4th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company C

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Nevada County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno, Nevada newspapers going back to 1870 that may include residents from Nevada County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nevada County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:37.
  • This page has been accessed 5,498 times.